ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVW
Abolition and ColonizationCivil Rights and Black PowerEducationFBI FilesFree African Americans in the 19th CenturyHistory 1700 to the presentOrganizationsPersonal PapersPlantation LifeSelected Web SitesSlavery and the Slave TradeThe ConfederacyWomen
19th Century Newspapers20th Century NewspapersNewspaper Web Sites
Books about Newspapers and PublishersNewspaper Indexes
Graphic ArtsManuscriptsSlavery Part 1Slavery Part 2
African Americans and PrincetonArchival CollectionsPublic Policy PapersSlavery at Princeton
A.M.E.A.M.E. Indiana - A.M.E. VirginiaA.M.E. Virginia - ChestnutCheyney - IndustrialInformat - North-westernPhiladelphia - Young
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: primary_sources newspapers  

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.
Last update: Nov 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/aas  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books about Newspapers and Publishers             Print Page
  
 

Print Sources

This selective bibliography contains sources for researchers interested in pursuing a more exhaustive study of African-American newspapers and publishers.

 

Also of interest

Burkett, Randall. The joy of finding periodicals "Not in Danky." Library Trends, Volume 56, Number 3, Winter 2008, pp.601-617.  Project Muse 24 September 2008

Abstract:

This essay examines the seminal reference tool, African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1998), edited by James P. Danky. It provides background on the creation of this highly acclaimed volume and demonstrates its usefulness in building a research collection of rare periodical literature in African American history and culture. It also documents efforts to build such a collection at Emory University.

 

 
 

Bibliography

Abajian, James T.  Blacks in selected newspapers, censuses and other sources: an index to names and subjects.  Boston, MA:G.K. Hall, 1977.  3 vols.  (F) Z1361.n39A28q

African-American newspapers and periodicals: a national bibliography, edited by James P. Danky.  Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998.  (DR) Z6944.N39A37 1998

Black newspaper index.  Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1977-  .  (Film B) AI3.I46 

Black periodicals and newspapers: a union list of holdings in libraries of the University of Wisconsin and the Library of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.  Compiled by Neil E. Strache... et al. 2d rev. ed.  Madison: The Society, 1979. (F) Z1361.N39B79 1979 

The Black press periodical directory. 1973-1975.  Newark, NJ: Black Press Clipping Bureau.  (F) Z6944.n39.B45 

Blassingame, John W. and Mae G. Henderson.  Antislavery newspapers and periodicals: an annotated index of letters, 1817-1871. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1980.  3 vols.  (DR) Z1249.S6A57 

La Brie, Henry G.  The Black newspaper in America: a guide.  Iowa City, Iowa: Institute for Communication Studies, University of  Iowa, 1970.  (F) 35831.0055 

Brown, Warren.  Checklist of Negro newspapers in the United States, 1827-1947.  School of journalism Series no. 2. Jefferson City, MOLincoln University, School of Journalism, 1946.  (DR) Z69511.B88

Bryl, Susan and Erwin K. Welsch.  Black periodicals and newspapers: a union list of holdings in the libraries of the University of Wisconsin, and the Library of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.  Madison, WI: University of Wisocnsin, Memorial  Library, 1975.  (F) Z6944.N39C35 

Campbell, Georgetta Merritt.  Extant collections of Black newspapers: a research guide to the Black press, 1880-1915,    with an index to the Boston "Guardian," 1902-1904.  Troy, NY: Whitson Pub. Co., 1981.  (F) Z6944.N39C35 

Daniel, Elenor Murphy and Adine McClarty Rollins.  Index to Black newspapers. Wooster, OH: Micro Photography Division,Bell and Howell, n.d.  (Film B) AI3.I46 

Dann, Martin E. comp.  The Black press, 1827-1890: the quest for national identity.  New York, NY: Capricorn Books, 1971.  (F) 1099.2819.1971 

Detweiler, Frederick German.  The Negro press in the United StatesCollege Park, MD: McGarth Publishing Co. 1968.  (F) 35831.296 

Directory of U. S. Negro newspapers, magazines & periodicals. [New York] U.S. Negro world. n.d. (F) Z6944.N39 D5

Finkle, Lee.  Forum for protest: the black press during World War II. Rutherford, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1975.  (F) PN 4888.N4F5 

Henritze, Barbara K.  Bibliographic checklist of African American newspapers. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., c1995. (DR) Z6944.N39 H46 1995 

Index to Black newspapers.  Wooster, OH: Bell & Howell Co., 1977- 1986.  (FILM B) AI3.I46 

Jacobs, Donald M.  Antebellum Black newspapers: indices to New York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837- 1841).  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1976.  (DR) E185.5.J33 

Meier, August.  The Claude A. Barnett papers: the Associated Negro Press, 1981-1967.  Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984.  (FILM) S00767; (Film B) PN4841.A73M44 

Newspapers and periodicals by and about Black people: Southeastern library holdings.  African-American Materials Project Staff, School of Library Sciences, North Carolina Central University.  Boston,MA: G.K. Hall, 1978. (F) Z1361.N39N67 1978 

Oak, Vishnu Vitthal.  The Negro newspaper.  Yellow Springs, OHAntioch Press, 1978.  (F) 1099.6835 

O'Kelly, Charlotte G.  The Black press and the Black protest movement: a study of the response of mass media to social change, 1946-1972.  n.p., 1975.  (Film) 03805 

Page, Clarence. African American newspapers, the voice of freedom.  Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 2006.  (F) PN4882.5.W37 2006

Pride, Armistead Scott.  Negro newspapers on microfilm: a selected list.  Washington, DC: Library of Congress, Photoduplication Service, 1953.  (F) 04041.737

__________.  A register and history of Negro newspapers in the United States, 1827-1950.  Ph.D Thesis, NorthwesternUniversity, 1950.  (Film) 00619                

Suggs, Henry Lewis.  The Black press in the south, 1865-1979. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.  (F) PN4882.5.B54 1983 

Thompson, Julius Eric.  The Black press in Mississippi, 1865-1985: a directory.  West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1988.  (F) Z1361.N39T52 1988 

Waters, Enoch P.  American diary: a personal history of the Black press. Chicago: Path Press, 1983.  (F) PN4874.W293.A33 1983

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait