Web Searching & Meta-Sites
- Best Search Tools (Infopeople) easy to use listing of the major search engines; includes a Search Tools Chart, a quick guide to searching techniques.
- Internet Archive offers permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.
- Recommended Search Engines (UC Berkeley).
- Research Guides by Subject created by Princeton Library staff, guide to resources at Princeton and on the web.
- SearcheBooks.com search for electronic texts available on the internet.
- SearchEdu.com "Over 15 million university and education pages indexed and ranked..."
- SearchGov.com search government pages only.
Web Gateways
- Academic Info: Gateway to Quality Internet Resources a subject directory of resources tailored to a college audience; guide are annotated listings of the best general Internet sites in the field.
- BUBL Link from Britain, a subject directory of Internet resources.
- CREDO reference (formerly xrefer.com) quick resource for looking up quotations, terms, or subjects.
- Digital Librarian: a librarian's choice of the best of the Web search dozens of categories for useful websites.
- Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections more than 11,000 annotated links to scholarly resources on the Internet; maintained by librarians from various California universities.
- Internet Public Library: Reference Collection searchable website maintained by a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science and technology.
- Intute: arts & humanities a gateway for humanities resources from the UK.
- Librarians' Internet Index: websties you can trust excellent annotated directory of sites arranged by subjects.
- LibrarySpot easy to use listing of reference works in many subjects .
- Open Directory Project a comprehensive directory of the web, relies on volunteer editors.
- The Scout Project provides weekly annotated reports on internet resources.
- Visual Resources Online (Princeton University. Dept of Art & Archeology).
- WWW Virtual Library subject guide to internet sites; categories include:computing,humanities, social sciences, journalism, education, engineering, law, etc.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait