Skip to main content

FRS 149: Coeducation: Home

A research guide in support of the Fall 2013 seminar taught by Professor Nancy Malkiel


The Princeton University Archives, located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, holds an array of primary source materials that document the history of coeducation at Princeton. This guide is intended to support your research for this course. While it focuses on sources within the Princeton University Archives, it also provides direction on locating secondary source materials, as well as primary sources on coeducation available at other college and university archives.

About the Princeton University Archives

The Princeton University Archives consists of over 10,000 linear feet of records including faculty files, administrative records, photographs, and publications that document the history of Princeton University. The University Archives is also the repository for Princeton senior theses and doctoral dissertations. You are welcome to visit the Mudd Library without appointment. We are open 9am-4:45pm, M-F during the academic year. If you have any questions or would like research assistance, please feel free to give us a call at 609.258.6345 or e-mail

Before visiting the library, or upon your arrival, you will need to register for a Special Collections Research Account. To get started, please see our research blog.

Archivists create a detailed guides, or finding aids, for collections in order to assist researchers in finding the information they are looking for. This research guide will take you directly to finding aids for collections relevant to your class, as well as to a keyword search of all of our collections (see link below). Take a few minutes for a brief introduction to and tour of our finding aids.

Search collections within the Princeton University Archives

Useful information about conducting research at Mudd

Assistant University Archivist for Public Services

Mudd Library
Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library
65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08540
Tel: (609) 258-6345 Fax: (609) 258-3385
Website / Blog Page