Skip to main content

Chemistry Research Guide

This guide is intended to assist users of the chemical literature to zero in on the most important resources at Princeton, especially those that are available electronically

Web Elements Periodic Table

The periodic table on the Web.

Featured Resource

Journal of Visualized Experiments

Chemistry Section

JoVE Chemistry surveys a broad scope of chemical disciplines. This collection includes fundamental and applied research that investigates molecular interactions, properties, and structure spanning in the following core divisions: analytical, organic, organometallic, inorganic, bioinorganic, and biochemistry. This section also includes the design and preparation of materials and small molecules for advanced or unique applications.

NIST Chemistry WebBook

NIST Chemistry WebBook

Access - http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/

This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. Only includes roughly 3000 0f the most common chemical compounds.

Other Databases

Reference

Links to the groups of most interest to chemists follow:

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS

SDBS is a free database maintained by AIST (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology) in Japan.  SDBS offers downloadable/printable spectra and peak assignments

Material Safety Datasheets

MSDSs can be used to find basic property information as well as safety data

- Patents – What are they? 60% of chemistry research is published in Patents. 

How to get them? US patents are free full text online, from Google (easiest) https://www.google.com/?tbm=pts,

and world patents are free and mostly full text online,http://esp@cenet. You can also search for chemical patents in Scifinder

Common Chemistry

About Common Chemistry

Database Description

This database contains the CAS Registry Number®, chemical names (both formal and common), molecular formulas, and structures or sequences for ~7900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. These substances are of global commercial use or importance and have been cited 1,000 or more times in the CAS databases. Examples of substances included are aspirin, biotin, benzoyl peroxide, and boric acid. The Common Chemistry database also includes all 118 elements of the Periodic Table, although not all of the elements may meet the 1,000 references threshold.

Links to Wikipedia records (when available) have been provided by the Wikipedia Chemicals WikiProject in collaboration with Chemical Abstracts Service.

Searching Common Chemistry

You can quickly and easily confirm a chemical name, CAS Registry Number, or structure from this database of common, everyday chemicals.

You can search for substances in Common Chemistry by either their CAS Registry Number or by their chemical name. Chemical name searches can be by exact name if you have one or by name fragment. CAS Registry Number searches are exact search only. Consult the Help page for additional search tips and details.

Data Usage

Common Chemistry is provided by CAS as a public service. If the data is used in other public facing databases or applications an acknowledgement of Common Chemistry from CAS (www.commonchemistry.org.) as a data source is desired. (disclaimer)

Database Updates

This database will be updated periodically. Information such as Wikipedia links may be added on a more frequent basis as it becomes available.

Database last updated May 2015.

Science of synthesis: Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations

 

The Science of Synthesis began coverage in 2001 and considers and critically reviews methods from journals, books, and patent literature and presents important synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds.

The SOS Web version also covers former Houben-Weyl treatise (1952-2003) in a separate search box.  Critically reviews chemical reaction literature with emphasis on functional group conversions.  The Houben-Weyl electronic backfile (1909 to 2003) provides immediate access to 146 000 product specific experimental procedures, 580 000 structures, and 700 000 references in all fields of synthetic organic chemistry - dating back to the early 1800s. [Princeton has this set in its entirety.]

e-EROS

e-EROS (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis) is an updated version of the 2nd edition of the print work by the same title.  It includes chemical reactions and structures. The database contains 70,000 reactions and 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents.

Browser must be set to accept cookies.

ACS Directory of Graduate Research

DGRweb 2007, the searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR), is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S. and Canada.

With the DGRweb you can search for faculty and institutions.

Search for faculty includes specific research area, academic rank, gender, and state, with the search results producing complete contact information for faculty including direct links to faculty email addresses and web pages, when provided.

Institutional searches provide all departmental contact information along with statistical data (when provided) on the number of faculty and students in the department and a complete list of faculty active in graduate research.

DGRweb 2007 also includes access to the complete 2005, 2003, 2001 and 1999 previous versions of the databae.  Click on main DGR link to access these.