Skip to main content

Chemistry Research Guide

This guide is intended to assist users of the chemical literature to zero in on the most important resources at Princeton, especially those that are available electronically

SciFinder Web (establish individual user accounts)

PU users must register for a personal SF Web account. 

Instructions:

  • Click here to go to registration page (User must register from on-campus)
  • Once there, click on the special "Princeton SCIFINDER Web registration" link and follow sign-up instructions. (User must register using a Princeton email address. CAS will send a confirmation email to which you must respond.)
  • All set! Now you can go directly to http://scifinder.cas.org and sign in. SciFinder is searchable from any Princeton IP, and thus searchable from off campus via Princeton's proxy software SRA.

Questions? Email Neil Nero, Interim Chemistry Librarian.

SciFinder

What sets SciFinder® apart? CONTENT! Did you know that SciFinder is the only research tool with access to the world’s most reliable and largest collection of substances, reactions and references (from both journals and patents)? A global network of scientists update content daily to ensure you have access to the most timely and accurate information available.

SciFinder excels with its wider coverage of literature and patents from ca. 1965 forward, its comprehensive registration of all types of chemical compounds, polymers, and mixtures, and its more thorough coverage of organic reactions after 1985. CAS also scans more source publications, indexes new material more rapidly, and is updated daily. 

  • Get substances – access the world’s most trusted resource for substance information including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers®, properties, commercial availability and regulatory information.
  • Get reactions – find dependable and current chemical reaction information from our extensive databases including reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts, as well as commercial availability of substances with direct links to leading producer and supplier sites.
  • Get references – get the information you need when you need it with our unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more. SciFinder is the only source that brings you information from early discovery through clinical trials with the combined coverage of CAplusSM and MEDLINE®. And full-text is just a click away*.

SciFinder’s easy-to-use search features offer fast and convenient access to the most comprehensive source for substance, reaction and reference information in a single tool designed for a more efficient workflow.

​​HELP for SciFinder Web and SciFinder Scholar is available from CAS.

Chemistry Librarian

Portal Manager