Skip to main content

Linguistics: Areas of Study

Headings

Applied Linguistics

Byram, Michael. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
(F) P51. R66 2000

Davies, Alan and Elder, Catherine. The Handbook of Applied Linguistics. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2004.
(F) P129 .H33 2004

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics: A Handbook for Language Teaching. Johnson, Keith, and Johnson, Helen, eds. Oxford: Blackwell, 1998.
(F) P129.E53 1998

Kaplan, Robert B. The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics. New York; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.
(F) P129.O95 2002

Richards, J. Longman. Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics. Harlow, Essex, UK: Longman, 1992.
(F) P29.R52 1992

Schmitt, Norbert. An Introduction to Applied Linguistics. London: Arnold; New York: Co-published in the US by Oxford University Press, 2002.
(F) P129.I576 2002

Ecolinguistics

Fill, Alwin, and Mühlhäusler, eds. The Ecolinguistics Reader: Language, Ecology, and Environment. London; New York: Continuum, 2001.
(F) P39.5.E25 2001

Educational Linguistics

Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics. Spolsky, Bernard, ed. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 1999.
(F) P40.8.C66 1999

Historical Lingiustics

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages. Woodard, Roger D., ed. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
(SC) (F) P140 .C36 2004

The Handbook of Historical Linguistics. Joseph, Brian D. and Janda, Richard D. eds. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2003.
(F) P140 .H35 2003

Language Acquisition

Crain, Stephen and Lillo-Martin, Diane. An Introduction to Linguistic Theory and Language Acquisition. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1999.
(F) P118.C6747 1999

Crain, Stephen and Thornton, Rosalind. Investigations in Universal Grammar: A Guide to Experiments on the Acquisition of Syntax and Semantics. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1998.
(F) P118.15.C73 1998

Handbook of Bilingualism. Bhatia, Tej K. and Ritchie, William C., eds. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell, 2004.
(F) P115 .H365 2004

Morphology

Booj, Geert et al., eds. Morphology: An International Handbook on Inflection and Word-Formation. Berlin; New York: W. De Gruyter, 2000-.
(F) Oversize P241.M599 2000q

Spencer, Andrew and Zwicky, Arnold M. The Handbook of Morphology. Oxford; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998.
(F) P241.H36 1998

Neurolinguistics

Linguistic Disorders and Pathologies: An International Handbook. Blanken, Gerhard...[et al.], ed. Berlin; New York: De Gruyter, 1993.
(F) RC423.L56 1993

Philosophy of Language

A Companion to the Philosophy of Language. Hale, Bob, and Wright, Crispin, eds. Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1997.
(F) P106.C5945 1997

Devitt, Michael and Hanley, Richard. The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Language. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2006.
(F) P107 .B58 2006

Lamarque, Peter V., ed. Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language. New York: Pergamon, 1997.
(F) P106.C5946 1997

The Philosophy of Language. Martinich, A. P., ed. 5th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
(F) P107 .P545 2008

The Oxford handbook of the philosophy of language.Lepore E.andSmith, B., eds. Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
(F) P107 .O98 2006

Phonetics

Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. 6th ed. Oxford, England; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 2008.
(F) P29.C652008Brief definitions. 1st ed. 1980. See also his "Glossary" in the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, vol. 4, pp. 273-348 [above] .

The Handbook of Phonetic Sciences. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1997.
(F) P221.H28 1997

The Handbook of Phonological Theory. Goldsmith, John A. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1995.
(F) P217.H27 1995

Trask, R. L. A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology. London; New York: Routledge, 1996.
(F) (DR) P216.T73 1996

Pragmatics

Christie, Christine. Gender and Language: Towards a Feminist Pragmatics. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2000.
(F) P99.4.P72 C474 2000

The Handbook of Pragmatics. Horn, Laurence R. and Gregory Ward, eds. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2004.
(SW) (F) P99.4.P72 H35 2004

Handbook of Pragmatics: Manual. Verschueren, Jef, Östman, Ola, and Blommaert, Jan, eds. Amsterdam; Philadelphia: John Benjamins, 1995.
(F) P99.4.P72 H36 1995

Psycholinguistics

Aitchison, Jean. A Glossary of Language and Mind. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2003.
(F) P37.A372 2003

Kroll, Judith F., and De Groot, Annette M.B. Handbook of Bilingualism: Psycholinguistic Approaches. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
(F) P115.4 .H36 2005

Linguistic Disorders and Pathologies: An International Handbook. Gerhard Blanken ... [et al.], ed. Berlin; New York: De Gruyter, 1993.
(F) RC423.L56 1993

Semantics

The Handbook of Contemporary Semantic Theory. Oxford; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996.
(F) P325.H28 1996

Semiotics

Bouissac, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of Semiotics. New York; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998.
(DR) P99.E64 1998

Chandler, Daniel. Semiotics: The Basics. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
London; New York: Routledge, 2002.

Cobley, Paul, ed. Routledge Companion to Semiotics and Linguistics. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
(F) P121.R692 2001

Nöth, Winfried. Handbook of Semiotics. Bloomington; Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, 1990.
(F) P99.N6513 1990

Sebeok, Thomas A. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics. 3 vols. 3rd rev. and updated ed. Berlin: Mouton de Gruyter, 2009.
(F) P99.E652009
Volume 3 is a bibliography.

Sebeok, Thomas A. Signs: An Introduction to Semiotics. 2nd ed. Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 2001.
(F) P99.S347 2001

Sociolinguistics

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics. Mesthrie, Rajend, ed. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 2001.
(F) P40.C564 2001

A Glossary of Sociolinguistics. Trudgill, Peter, ed. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2003.
(F) P40.T747 2003

Handbook of Sociolinguistics. Coulmas, Florian, ed. Oxford; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1998.

Stockwell, Peter. Sociolinguistics: A Resource Book for Students. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
(F) P40.S783 2002

Syntax

Concise Encyclopedia of Syntactic Theories. Brown, Keith, and Miller, Jim. Oxford; New York: Pergamon, 1996.
(F) P291.C575 1996

Elements of Grammar: Handbook in Generative Syntax. Haegeman, Liliane, ed. Dortrecht; Boston: Kluwer, 1997.
(F) P291.E45 1997

The Handbook of Contemporary Syntactic Theory. Baltin, Mark and Chris Collins, eds. Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell. 2001.
(F) P291 .H246 2001

Subject Guide

David Jenkins's picture
David Jenkins
Contact:
1-6G-2 Firestone Library
(609) 258-5811

Office hours: Mondays 11:00-12:00pm, Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
Schedule an appointment