Skip to main content

Linguistics: Bibliographies and Periodical Indices

Titles

Bibliographie linguistique de l'annee. Utrecht: Spectrum, 1948-.
(DR) Z7001.xB5 (1990-current); (ReCAP) Z7001.xB5 (1949-1989)
Volume 1 covered 1939-1947. Annual thereafter. International in scope. Lists books and articles and cites book reviews. Arranged in broad subject categories. Slower to appear by about a year than the MLA or BLL.
For coverage of research since 1981, the MLA Bibliography will probably be the most useful of these three bibliographies, because of its subject index and broad scope. The Bibliographie Linguistique is particularly strong in research on East European and Asian languages. Before 1969 the Bibliographie Linguistique is more complete than the MLA.

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature - Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur (BLL). Frankfurt am Main: V. Klostermann, 1971-.
(DR) Oversize z7003.xB5q
Vol. 1 covered 1971-1975. Annual thereafter. Lists books and articles on general and theoretical linguistics and on English and the Germanic and Romance languages. Detailed subject arrangement with an additional subject index.

Linguistics: The Cambridge Survey. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1988. 4 vols.
(F) P121.L567 1988
Surveys research results and current work in all branches of linguistics. A very extensive older survey was Current Trends in Linguistics, The Hague: Mouton, 1963-1976. 14 volumes in 21. (F) (Gest) (Annex) 2000.279

Linguistic Bibliography Online  (1993+)
Covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.

Linguistics Abstracts Online  (1985+)
More than 15,000 abstracts from nearly 300 linguistics journals published since 1985.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973+)
Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

MLA International Bibliography (1926+)
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Linguistics
Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative linguistics scholarship.

Web of Science, 1973-.
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1965+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+). Offers the option to find cited references.

The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Ed. by the Modern Humanities Research Association. London: Cambridge University Press, 1930- (1929+).
(DR) PB1.Y45: v.1 (1929/30) - current; electronic access: 1929/30-1994.
Annual collection of bibliographical and critical essays reviewing the year's production of scholarly research in many areas, including general linguistics and the Romance, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic languages and their literatures. Concerned with development from medieval times to the present day. Critically assesses major articles, books and new editions. Very useful as an overview of recent secondary literature. Includes books and articles that have appeared since 1921. A similar survey of English is Year's Work in English Studies (electronic access) and in print in (DR) PE58.E6

Subject Guide

David Jenkins's picture
David Jenkins
Contact:
1-6G-2 Firestone Library
(609) 258-5811

Office hours: Mondays 11:00-12:00pm, Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
Schedule an appointment