Skip to main content

Gender and Science: Biographical Sources

Book-Length Biographies

Do a Keyword search in the Main Catalog to locate book-length biographies as well as shorter biographies included in books about more than one person. The name of the scientist may be entered in any order. For autobiographies, do an Author search, entering the name last-name first, without punctuation between first and last name  (Franklin Rosalind). 

Other Biographical Sources

Biography and genealogy master index.

American men & women of science.

American national biography

Biographies of women mathematicians

Complete dictionary of scientific biography (classical antiquity to modern times)

Notable American women, 1607-1950 : a biographical dictionary. Volume 1:A-F

Notable American women, 1607-1950 : a biographical dictionary. Volume II: G-O

Notable American women, 1607-1950 : a biographical dictionary. Volume III: P-Z

Notable American women: the modern period: a biographical dictionary

Notable American women: a biographical dictionary completing the twentieth century

Oxford dictionary of national biography 

Women in the biological sciences: a biobibliographic sourcebook

Women in world history: a biographical encyclopedia

American women in science: a biographical dictionary. Bailey, Martha J. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1994.  (DR)  Q141 .B25 1994

American women in science: 1950 to the present: a biographical dictionary. Bailey, Martha J. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c1998.  (F) Q141 .B254 1998

The biographical dictionary of women in science: pioneering lives from ancient times to the mid-20th century.  Marilyn Ogilvie and Joy Harvey, editors.  New York: Routledge, 2000.  2 v. (F) Q141 .B5285 2000

Blacks in science and medicine.  New York: Hemisphere Pub. Corp., c1990.  (DR) Q141 .B58 1989

Contemporary women scientists of America.  Noble, Iris.  New York: Messner, c1979.  (F) Q141.N67

Four lives in science: women's education in the nineteenth century.  Arnold, Lois. New York: Schocken Books, 1983.  (F) Q141 .A73 1983 

An Index to biographical fragments in unspecified scientific journals.  Barr, E. Scott.   University, Alabama: University of Alabama Press, 1973.  (F) Q141.B29

Nobel Prize women in science: their lives, struggles, and momentous discoveries. McGrayne, Sharon Bertsch.  Secaucus, NJ: Carol Pub. Group, 1998.  (F) Q141 .M358 1998

Profiles of pioneer women scientists.O'Hern, Elizabeth Moot.  Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books, c1985.  (RECAP)  R153 .O36 1985

Women in chemistry and physics: a biobibliographic sourcebook.  Edited by Louise S. Grinstein, Rose K. Rose, and Miriam H. Rafailovich.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.  (F) (SO) QD21 .W62 1993

Women in science: antiquity through the nineteenth century: a biographical dictionary with annotated bibliography. Ogilvie, Marilyn Bailey.  Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, c1986.  (DR) Q141 .O34 1986

Women in the scientific search: an American bio-bibliography, 1724-1979. Siegel, Patricia Joan.   Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1985.  (F) (SCI) Z7404. S57 1985

Women of mathematics: a bio-bibliographic sourcebook.  Edited by Louise S. Grinstein and Paul J. Campbell.  New York: Greenwood Press, c1987.  (SCI) QA28 .W66 1987

Women of modern science.  York, Dodd, Mead, 1959.  (Holden)  Q130 .Y63

Women scientists from antiquity to the present: an index: an international reference listing and biographical directory of some notable women scientists from ancient to modern times. Herzenberg, Caroline L.  West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1986.  (DR)  Q141 .H475 1986