Skip to Main Content

African Studies Resources: Africa by Subject

History

Primary Resources on Africa at Princeton

African Newspapers (historical)

Find Articles in History

Historical Abstracts  (1954+)
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Find Articles and more by topic (Princeton Users)

Art

Art Index  (Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  (1930s+)Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

International Bibliography of Art  (2008+)Currently includes 2008-09 indexing created by the Getty Research Institute (formerly known as Bibliography of the History of Art, and the definitive scholarly resource--books and journals--for western art history).

ARTstor  Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.


Economics

Main Economic & Finance Guide

EconLit  (1886+)Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

 

ABI/Inform  (1971+) Worldwide business periodicals. In-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, theory, & practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, & taxation.


Environment

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management  (1967+) Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.


Environment Abstracts  (1975+) One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and separately searchable. Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues.


Environment Complete  (1888+)
Abstract/index information for environmental policy and studies

Language and Culture

African Language Materials Archive (ALMA) 

Literature

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+) Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)  (1920+) Citations to books, articles, and book reviews. English is to be understood in the broadest international sense. ABELL is an excellent complement to the MLA International Bibliography.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)   Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Politics
 
International Political Science Abstracts  (1951+Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies.


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  (1975+) Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+) Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

PAIS International  (1915+) Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.