Brief, signed articles cover events, trends, and other aspects of American history; this edition strives for inclusiveness of coverage. Political, economic, social, industrial, and cultural history included, but not biographies; prominent persons may often be traced through references under their names in the analytical index. Includes many buzzwords and popular names of bills and laws. Print version is ten volumes.
Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.
Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.
Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period. Provides a very powerful way to browse by type of source.
Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.
Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion.
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.