Research Guides: Patents: Patent Information in Print & DVD

Books on Patents

There are many more books on different aspects of patents than what is listed here. To search the Main Catalog for more books on patents, try the following Subject Headings:

Patent
Patent laws and legislation
Patents
Patents -- United States

Be sure to page through and look at the different Subdivision for the Subject Headings. These will lead you to books on different aspects of patents, such as geographic location, time period, etc.

Official Gazette of the USPTO

The Official Gazette of the United States Patent Office is published every Tuesday and contains bibliographic and drawing information for patents issued during the week.The most recent 52 issues of the Official Gazette are available online from the patent office.

Many of the Gazettes from 1872 to 1998 have been scanned and are available on the Internet Archive. http://archive.org/search.php?query=official%20gazette%20patent%20office&sort=-date

All issues of the Official Gazette from Volume 1 (January, 1872) through Volume 1262 (September, 2002) are available at Princeton on microfilm from ReCap. To request a Gazette volume, you must first determine which call number the volume is in. Search for Official Gazette of the United States Patent Office as a Title to view catalog records for the ReCap holdings. Microfilm requested from ReCap is viewed in Firestone Microforms.

Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents

The Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents contains statistics and information about patents issued for the year. Many older Annual Reports also includes an alphabetic listing by inventor or patent assignee. Annual Reports from 1994 to present are available from USPTO http://www.uspto.gov/about/stratplan/ar/index.jsp

Many older Annual Reports have been scanned and are available on the Internet Archive http://archive.org/search.php?query=Annual%20report%20of%20Commissioner%20of%20Patents

Patent Office Government Documents

Concordance : United States patent classification to international patent classification by United States. Patent & Trademark Office
Call Number: T223.F4 A57
Print located in Government Documents stacks

The following print publications are available in either Firestone or Government Documents in the Social Science Reference Center (SSRC). See notes for location information.

General information concerning patents by United States. Patent and Trademark Office
Call Number: C 21.26/2:997
Print located in Government Documents Reference.
Guide to filing a design patent application by United States. Patent and Trademark Office.
Call Number: C 21.14/2:D 46/2009
Located in Government Documents stacks
Guide to filing a utility patent application by United States. Patent and Trademark Office
Call Number: C 21.14/2:UT 4/2008
Located in Government Documents Stacks
Index to the United States Patent Classification (USPC) system
Call Number: C 21.12/2:
Print located in Government Documents Reference. Current edition only retained.
Subject-matter index of patents for inventions issued by the United States Patent Office from 1790 to 1873, inclusive by United States. Patent and Trademark Office.
Call Number: T223.D7 A45 1976
Located in Firestone stacks. Reprint of the 1874 ed. published by Government Printing Office, Washington. Also included in the Nineteenth Century Masterfile electronic index. See the 1836 U.S. Patent Fire tab for link.

Patent Office DVD-ROMs

Patents ASSIGN (DVD-ROM by United States. Patent and Trademark Office
Call Number: C 21.31/4:
Patent data is derived from assignment deeds recorded from August 1980 through the present, including assignments of patent grants and patent applications. CURRENT EDITION ONLY RETAINED

USPTO offers several CD and DVD-ROMs with specific patent data for advanced searching. SSRC houses the following resources in storage cabinets and makes them available upon request at the SSRC Reference Desk.

Patents CLASS (DVD-ROM) by United States. Patent and Trademark Office.
Call Number: C 21.31/3:
This database contains current classification information for all utility, design, plant, reissue, X-numbered patents, patent application publications, defensive publications and statutory invention registrations issued from 1790 to the present. CURRENT EDITION ONLY RETAINED.
Patents ASSIST (DVD-ROM)
Call Number: C 21.31/5:
This database provides searchable text of many patent search tools including: Index to the U.S. Patent Classification, IPC-USPC Concordance, manual of Classification, and Manual of Patent Examining Procedure. In addition, Classification Definitions, a patentee/Applicant-Assignee Index, and a Classification Orders Index (classifications established or abolished since 1976) are included. CURRENT EDITION ONLY RETAINED.
Patents BIB (DVD-ROM)
Call Number: : C 21.31/2:
Patents BIB contains bibliographic information for utility patent grants issued from l1969 to the present and for other types of patent documents issued from 1977 to the present. There are 15 searchable fields including patent title, patent abstracts, current classifications, assignees, inventors' names, and status (i.e. withdrawn, corrected, expired for failure to pay maintenance fees, reinstated, reexamined or term extended). CURRENT EDITION ONLY RETAINED.