Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Olympics

Olympics

Grasso, John; Bill Mallon and Jeroen Heijmans.
Historical Dictionary of the Olympic Movement
Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Enfield, Stan Greenberg.
The Guinness Book of Olympics Facts and Feats
Middlesex: Guinness Superlatives, 1983.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV721.8 .G74
This resource includes illustrated entries for each Olympic summer or winter game held from 1896 to 1984, providing such information as numbers of countries in attendance and of participating male and female athletes, final medal counts by country, and a summary of significant highlights.  Individual sporting events are also profiled, where researchers can find information on the history of the event in the Olympics and lists of medal winners.

Findling, John E. and Kimberly D. Pelle, eds.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Olympic Movement.
Westport, Conn. and London: Greenwood Press, 2004.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR)
Call Number: GV721.5 .H546 2004
Includes essays on each summer and winter Olympic game from 1896 to the 2002 Salt Lake City games, with detailed a bibliography following each essay.  There are also a number of appendices on such topics as the International Olympic Committee and its members, the relationship between the games and television, Olympic feature films, Internet sources, and an extensive general bibliography.

Olympic Impact Statements
(various publishers)
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR)
Call Number:  GV721.5 .O495
Olympic impact statements for Los Angeles 1984, Seoul 1988, Barcelona 1992, Lillehammer 1994, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, and London 2012.

Journal of Olympic History

Mallon, Bill.
The Olympics: A Bibliography.
New York: Garland Pub., 1984. Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR)
Call Number: Z7514.O5 M35 1984s

Olympic Research Symposium Proceedings

Olympic Review and Revue Olympique

Olympika [London, Ont.]: Centre for Olympic Studies, 1992-
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV721.5 .O6
Periodical of sociological and cultural research concerning the modern Olympic games and the Olympic movement.

Page, James A.
Black Olympian Medalists
Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1991. Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV697.A1 P284 1991

Wallechinsky, David and Jaime Loucky.
The Complete Book of the Olympics.
London : Aurum, 2012.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV721.5 .W25 2012
Lists the top 4 to 8 finishers and their times or scores for each event in the summer and winter Olympics from 1896 to 2008, additionally summarizing and describing each race or game.

Wallechinsky, David and Jaime Loucky.
The Complete Book of the Winter Olympics.
2014 ed.  Hertford, NC : Crossroad Press, ©2014.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV841.5 .W35 2014
Arranged according to sporting event, this resource gives a brief history and description of each event and records the top eight men and women placers, along with their times and scores, for each Olympic year from the time the event was included in the Olympics.

 

General Biographical Resources

Official Olympic Reports (courtesy of LA84 Foundation)

International Olympic Committee Marketing and Broadcasting Reports

Olympic Market Fact File (2016 edition)

Olympic Market Fact File (2015 edition)

Olympic Market Fact File (2014 edition)

Olympic Market Fact File (2011 edition)

Olympic Market Fact File (2008 edition)

Olympic Dates (courtesty of Library of Congress)

International Olympic Committee

Olympic Results Database (International Olympic Committee)

Olympics Past and Present

Mega-Events and Olympics (Centre on Housing Rights and Evictions)

Olympic Bid Results (courtesy of GamesBids.com)

Taking Part: London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Host Borough Survey
One-off, area-specific survey that covered only the 6 Olympic host boroughs (Barking and Dagenham, Greenwich, Hackney, Newham, Tower Hamlets and Waltham Forest). Was commissioned to inform the 'Meta-Evaluation of the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games', which is assessing the impacts and legacy of the Games. Gathered information on the views, behaviors and attitudes of the residents of the host boroughs, and will form a key part of the assessment of the impact of the Games on East London. To obtain a free account please register with the UKDA.

2010 Winter Olympics (Sochi) California Digital Library Web Archive