Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Other Football Sources

Other Football Sources

Baldwin, Robert.
College Football Records: Division I-A And The Ivy League, 1869-1984
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1987. 
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV950 .B35 1987

College Football Historical Society Newsletter

ESPN College Football Encyclopedia
New York: ESPN, 2005.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV956.8 .E86 2005

ESPN Pro Football Encyclopedia  
New York: Sterling, 2006.
Location:   Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV955.N35 E76 2006

Football Studies

Grasso, John.
Historical Dictionary of Football
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2013. 


Mehno, John.
The Best Book of Football Facts.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV950.5 .M44 2004
Includes biographical information on players and team histories and chronologies.

National Football League
Official...National Football League Record & Fact Book.
New York: Workman Pub., 1984-.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV955 .N3346 (have 1992)

Neft, David S., Richard M. Cohen, and Richard Korch, eds.
The Football Encyclopedia: The Complete History of Professional Football from 1892 to the Present
2nd ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1994.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV954 .N44 1994
A statistical encyclopedia of professional football teams, individual players, and leagues from 1920 to 1993 that also includes some descriptive and summary information on significant games and events.

Ours, Robert.
College Football Encyclopedia: The Authoritative Guide to 124 Years of College Football
Rocklin, Calif.: Prima Pub., 1994.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV956.8 .O87 1994
This encyclopedia includes the records and highlights of 87 college teams, arranged according to conference affiliation,  covering all teams from the Atlantic Coast, Big Eight, Big East, Big 10, Pacific 10, Southeastern, Southwest, and Western Athletic Conferences.

Smith, Myron J., Jr.
Professional Football: The Official Pro Football Hall of Fame Bibliography
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Location: Annex A (TEMP)
Call Number: Z7514.F7 S64 1993
 

More Resources

Periodicals

College Football Hall of Fame

National Football League

Football Outsiders

Pro Football Hall of Fame

Professional Football Researchers Association