Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Other Baseball Sources

Encyclopedias and Statistics



Baseball Encyclopedia: The Complete and Definitive Record of Major League Baseball.
New York : Macmillan, 1993.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV877.B27 1993

Baseball Guide: The Ultimate Baseball Almanac
St. Louis, MO: Sporting News, 1944-1947, 1953, 1956-2006. 
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number:  GV877.B324
Year in review of Major League and Minor League Baseball.

Baseball register  
St. Louis, MO: Sporting News, 1961, 1967, 1969-1970, 1976-2007
Location:  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number:  GV862.B43
Detailed statistics on each Major League player for that year.

Bjarkman, Peter C.
Diamonds Around the Globe: the Encyclopedia of International Baseball.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2005. 

Bjarkman, Peter C., ed.
Encyclopedia of Major League Baseball Team Histories. American League.
Westport, Conn.: Meckler, 1991.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV875 .A1 E53 1990

Bjarkman, Peter C., ed.
Encyclopedia of Major League Baseball Team Histories. National League.
Westport, Conn.: Meckler, 1991.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV875 .A3 1991

Dickson, Paul.
The New Dickson Baseball Dictionary: A Cyclopedic Reference to More Than 7,000 Words, Names, Phrases, and Slang Expressions That Define the Game, Its Heritage, Culture and Variations.
New York: Harcourt Brace & Co., 1999.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV862.3 .D53 1999

ESPN Baseball Encyclopedia
New York: Stirling, 2005.
Location:  Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number:   GV877 .E866
Year-by-year and team-by-team batting and pitching statistics for all major players and teams in major league history (1871-2004).

Friend, Luke, Don Zminda with John Mehno
The Best Book of Baseball Facts.
Buffalo, N.Y.: Firefly Books, 2005.
Location: Firestone Library (F)
Call Number: GV877 .F75 2005
Includes biographical information of players and team histories and chronologies.

Hardball Times baseball annual 
Skokie, IL : ACTA Sports, 2006-2008, 2012.  
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone 
Call Number: GV877 .H275 

Heaphy, Leslie A. and Mel Anthony May.
Encyclopedia of Women and Baseball.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2006.
Location:  Firestone (F)
Call Number: GV880.7.E63 2006

Light, Jonathan Fraser.
The Cultural Encyclopedia of Baseball.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2005.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number:  GV862.3.L54 2005

Loverro, Thom.
Encyclopedia of Negro League Baseball.
New York, NY : Checkmark Books, 2003 .
Location: African American Studies Reading Rm. Firestone B-7-B
Call Number:  GV875 .A1 L68 2003

Neft, David S. and Richard M. Cohen.
The Sports Encyclopedia: Baseball
24th ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2004.
Location:  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number: GV877 .S78

Spatz, Lyle.
Historical Dictionary of Baseball
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2013.


Thorn, John, and Peter Palmer with David Reuther, eds.
Total Baseball
2nd ed. New York, N.Y.: Warner Books, 1991.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone
Call Number:  GV863.A1 T68 1991
Written by a variety of experts, the first part of this book consists of historical information on baseball, from the origins of the farm system to women players.  The second part contains playing and pitching registers, rosters, and annual statistics from the beginning of major league play in 1871, in addition to statistics developed especially for Total Baseball, like the Clutch Hitting Index.
 

Worth, Richard. 
Baseball Team Names:  A Worldwide Dictionary, 1869-2011.
Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2013.
Location:  Firestone 
Call Number: GV862.3 .W67 2013

Bibliographies & Periodicals



The Baseball Bibliography
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2006.

Baseball Magazine

Baseball Research Journal
Washington, D.C.: Society for American Baseball Research, 1972-1983, 1993+.
Location:  Firestone Library (F)
Call Number:  GV862 .B43

Nine: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture
Lincoln, NE : University of Nebraska Press
Vol. 9, no. 1 & 2 (fall 2000/spring 2001)-

 

For biographies of individuals, search the Catalog using the Subject Headings: Baseball players-Biography, Baseball-Biography, Baseball players- United States -Biography or Baseball players- United States .