Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Business of Sports

Business of Sports

Deloitte & Touche
Annual Review of Football Finance
Manchester: Deloitte and Touche Sport.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone 
Call Number: Oversize GV943.3 .A568q
Library has 1993, 1995-2015.

Economic Impact of British Racing.
Report on horse racing in Great Britain.  2009, 2013

Economic Impact of the Ascot Racecourse (December 2014)

Financial World
Location: Firestone Library (1902-1997) Microfilm S00897 (1984-1997). Selected text (1985 until 2001) available electronically.
Call Number: HG4501 .F5q
May/June issue includes sports franchise valuations through 1997. Continued by Forbes. See below.

Fizel, John. ed.
Handbook of Sports Economics Research.
Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2006.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone 
Call Number:  GV716.H36 2006
Useful source for identifying major studies in sports economics.

Fizel, John, Elizabeth Gustafson and Lawrence Hadley, eds.
Sports Economics: Current Research.
Wesport, Conn.: Praeger, 1999.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV716 .S594 1999

Forbes.
Location: Firestone Library (F)
Call Number: HF5001.F74 Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room (PR) Firestone. Continues Financial World's sports franchise valuations from 1998-

Inside the Ownership of Pro Sports Teams
Chicago, Ill.: Team Marketing Report, 1995-2009.
Location: DSS Server
Call Number: CD-ROM
Focusing on men's professional baseball, basketball, football, hockey and soccer, this resource begins with essays on various financial topics related to professional sports and is followed by team profiles containing information on team finances, attendance records, media overview, personnel, facilities reports, pre-season training sites, and ownership structures. Covers 1995-2001, 2004, 2005 (baseball only), 2008, 2009. Includes Major League Facilities which has sports leases including major league agreements. Includes over 110 complete sports leases on including 76 major league agreements and 35 minor league agreements, more than 40 stadium revenue agreements, and more than 25 Major League Baseball spring training facilities agreements.

International Journal of Sport Finance.
Morgantown, WV: Fitness Information Technology.
Location: Firestone Library. Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room (PR). Firestone.
Call Number: (RECAP) GV716 .I573
2006+


Revenues from Sports Venues
Nashville, TN: Mediaventures.
Location:
Call Number: DSS Server  
Samples of leases, naming rights, concessions, luxury suites, seat licenses, management, team
benefits, the current MLB current bargaining agreement, and feasibility reports. Three supplements in paper provide additional statistics

Revenues from Sports Venues Research Pack ((Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone) GV716.R483) provides information on league and local revenues, tickets and attendance, seat licenses, the impact of new venues, financing, sponsorship and signage, and alternative revenue sources. Published in 2008.  Supplemented by a CD which provides information on concessions, feasibility reports,  luxury seats, management, seat licenses, and team benefits.

Revenues from Sport Venues ((Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone) GV716.R48) provides profiles of professional baseball, basketball, football, hockey, and soccer teams.  Published in 2008.

Revenues from Sport Venues Market Profiles ((Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone) GV716.R482) provides profiles of cities with sports teams. Published in 2003.

SMA/SportsMarketAnalytics
      Continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry -- sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.  Formerly entitled SBRNet.

Sports Leases on CD-ROM: Stadium Revenue Agreements.
Location: Microform Services (FilmB)
Call Number: Computer File 318
      Contains more than 40 actual stadium contracts.

Sports Market Place
Princeton, N.J.: Sportsguide, 1984-
Location: RECAP
Call Number: HD9992.U5 S666
     Continues Sportsguide master reference (1981-1983)

Television sports rights
York, Me.: QV Pub., Inc., 2004
Location: RECAP
Call Number:GV742.3 .T45

Sports Business Data Pages (courtesy of Rodney Fort)

SBRnet:  Sport Business Research Network (Princeton only)

Business of Baseball

Equity in Athletics
Provides customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data for 2001+. The data are drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database. Consists of athletics data that are submitted annually as required by the Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.

For more resources, search the  Catalog using the Subject Headings: Professional sports--Economic aspects and Professional sports--Economic aspects--United States.