Studio Art Library Resources: Full-Text Databases

Tips on searching Art Index:

1. One great thing about Art Index is that it indexes reproductions and the illustrations that go with articles! Under the advanced search, click on the "Document Type" menu to select "Art Reproduction" if you want to search those.

2. Under the menu that says "Keyword," notice the other art-related search options: "Artist and Work," "Materials and Technique," etc.

3. Once you enter your search term and go to the search results page, you will see that if Art Index has the full text of an article, you will be able to click on "Full Text HTML" or "Full Text PDF" under the title. If not, try clicking "Find it @ PUL" to see if Princeton has a copy of the journal in the library.

Tips on searching JSTOR:

1. On the homepage, note the long list of subject areas. If you select one (say "Art & Art History" or "Architecture and Architectural History") you will search only those journals. You can click on these subject headings to find out which journals are included in each category.

2. Under the advanced search option, you can search in the full-text of an article--or, if you are looking for an image in particular, you can narrow your search to the caption.

3. JSTOR actually has a tutorial that you can check out if you get confused! It's on the advanced search page right above the search box.

Tips on searching Oxford Art Online:

1. This resource actually includes three separate resources: The Grove Dictionary of Art (an encyclopedia with fairly comprehensive entries), The Oxford Companion to Western Art (more succinct entries, only covers Western art), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (focuses more on aesthetics and critical approaches), and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (pretty much exactly what it sounds like). If one of these is more relevant to your search, you can limit your search to that one source.

2. For many articles, when you view the page, you will see a tab at the top that says "Images." This tab will take you to a page of links that will direct you to images that relate to your article.

3. There may also be a tab that says "Related Content," which will direct you to other articles in Oxford Art Online system with similar stuff.

Tips on searching International Index to the Performing Arts Full-Text:

1. Notice on the search screen that you can search specific types of documents, such as musical scores, cartoons, and graphs for more targeted research.

2. As in some other databases such as Wilson Omnifile, you can limit your search here to only peer-reviewed journals.

3. Looking for information on a specific performing arts journal? The "Search Journal" and "Browse Journal" options on the navigation bar allow you to look at subjects associated with each journal and do keyword searches.

Tips on searching Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon:

1. As the title probably indicates, parts of this online resource may be in German, and the printed version certainly will be.

2. Artists can be searched by date, country, and occupation, among other things.