Skip to main content

Asian American Studies: Articles

A guide to print and electronic resources in Princeton University Library.

Project MUSE

Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Project MUSE journals in Asian and Pacific Studies.

Search Articles+ (peer-reviewed)

Search Articles+ for peer-reviewed articles

Article Databases

America: History and Life  (1954+)

Note: Print predecessor Writings on American History covering 1904-1954 is in Firestone's General & Humanities Reference (DR) Z1236.L331.

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

 

Annual Review of Anthropology  (1972+)  

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.

 

Annual Review of Economics  (2009+)  

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in economics. Can help researchers identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of economics. 

 

Annual Review of Political Science  (1998+)  

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in political science. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of politics. 

 

Annual Review of Psychology  (1950+)  

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in psychology. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of psychology.

 

Annual Review of Sociology  (1975+)  

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in sociology. Identifies major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of sociology.

 

Anthropology Plus  (1800+)

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 

 

Art Index  (Indexing 1929+, Select Full Text 1997+)  

Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts. 

 

Asian American Drama    

Full text of plays written by over forty playwrights, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other emphemera related to the plays.

 

Blackwell Reference Online    

Full-text of approximately 300 humanities and social science reference books published by Blackwell.

 

Business Full Text  (1913+)  

English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals. 

 

Caribbean Literature    

Full text of fiction, poetry, essays, plays, and other materials by authors from the Caribbean archipelago.

 

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. 

 

Education Full Text  (Indexing 1929+; Full-text 1996+)

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

 

Essay and General Literature Index  (1900+)

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Ethnic NewsWatch  (1960+)

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

 

Film Literature Index  (1976-2001)  

Citations to articles about film and television in over 300 periodicals.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library    

 

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs. 

 

General Science Full Text  

 

Hein Online Law Journal Library    

Full text access to over 700 law reviews, most back to the first volume. Most recent issues are often not included. 

 

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  (1908+)

Index of articles from approximately 850 law journals and selected books with some full-text. 

 

International Index of Music Periodicals    

Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications. 

 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+)  

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. 

 

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (1864+)  

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

 

Lexis-Nexis Academic    

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full text of the New York Times.

 

Literary Reference Center  (Antiquity+)  

Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

 

Literature Criticism Online    

Covers authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres. Includes biographical and critical overviews, and many interviews of authors. Contains the full text of volumes in Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, and Drama Criticism.

 

Literature Resource Center    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+)

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

 

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive  (1800-1899)  

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

 

Oral History Online    

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

 

Proquest Historical Newspapers  (Varies by Newspaper.)  

Coverage depends on the newspaper. Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1996); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); New York Times (1851-2006); New York Tribune (1841-1922); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal (1889-1992); Washington Post (1877-1993). 

 

PsycINFO  (1800's+)

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

 

Race Relations Abstracts  (1975+)  

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. 

 

Readers' Guide  (1890+; Select Full Text 1992+)

Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

 

Short Story Index  (1915+)

Provides citations to short stories written in or translated into English published in short story collections as well as periodicals indexed by the Reader's Guide and the Humanities Index.

 

Social Sciences Full Text  

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology. 

 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages. 

 

Google Scholar