Skip to main content

Asian American Studies: Reference Books

A guide to print and electronic resources in Princeton University Library.

E-books

Blackwell Reference Online 

Full-text of approximately 300 humanities and social science reference books published by Blackwell.

 

A Companion to Asian American Studies

 

A Companion to Racial and Ethnic Studies 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

 

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

 

Sage Reference Online 

Encyclopedias

Asian American Encyclopedia. Edited by Franklin Ng and Wilson, John D. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995. (DR) E184.O6A827 1995 

Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History, edited by Xiaojian Zhao and Edward J.W. Park.  Santa Barbara: ABC CLIO, 2014 (F) E184.A75A842628 2014 

Encyclopedia of Asian-American Literature, by Seiwoong Oh.  New York: Facts On File, c2007 (F) PS153.A84 O37 2007 

Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity and society 

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature, edited by Guiyou Huang.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2009.  (DR) PS153.A84 G74 2009 

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups, edited by Thernstrom, Stephan, Orlov, Ann Handlin, Oscar. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 1980.  (DR) E184.A1 H35  

 

Bibliographies

Asian and Asian American Studies.  Compiled by the Choice editorial staff.  Middletown, CT: Choice, c1993.  (F) Z3001 .A817 1993 

Cheung, King-Kok. Asian American Literature: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: MLA, 1988.  (DR) Z1229.A75C47 1988 

Hansen, Gladys. The Chinese in California: A Brief Bibliographic History. Portland: Abel, 1970. (WA) Z1261 .H25  

Kim, Hyung-chan. Asian American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography and Research Guide. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.  (F) Z1361.O7 K56 1989  

Hmong-related Works, 1996-2006: An Annotated Bibliography, by Mark Edward Pfeifer.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.  (F) Z3008.H65 P44 2007 

Salzman, Jack, ed. American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography, 1984-1986. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1990. (F) Z1361.C6 S35 1990 

South Asian Diaspora in North America: An Annotated Bibliography, by Pramod Mishra and Urmila Mohapatra.  Delhi: Kalinga Publications, 2002.  (SPR) Z1211.S68 M57 2002

Dictionaries

Asian American Almanac: A Reference Work on Asians in the United States, ed. by Susan Gall and Natividad, Irene Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1995. (DR) E184.O6A824 

Kim, Hyung-Chan. Dictionary of Asian American History. New York: Greenwood, 1986.  (DR) E184.O6D53 1986 

Biographical sources

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences     

Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available. 

American National Biography  (17th Century+)  

Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent Americans who are deceased. Updated monthly. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name or various characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates. 

Asian American Autobiographers: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, edited by Guiyou Huang; foreword by Shirley Geok-lin Lim.  Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2001.  (F) PS366.A74 A85 2001

Asian and Pacific Islander Americans, edited by Gary Y. Okihiro. Ispwich: Mass.: Salem Press, 2013 (F) E184.A75A85 2013 

Biography Index  (1946+)  

Links to 500,000 biographical entries in standard reference sources. Also lists bio coverage in contemporary magazines from 1984 to present. Offers multiple search criteria: name, race, ethnicity, gender, occupation, date, and keyword. Especially strong for US. 

Biography Reference Bank  (Ancient times to present)  

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries.) 

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography  (Classical antiquity to modern times)  

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. 

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras. 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)    

Extensive biographic and bibliographic data on authors from around the world. Search by name or ethnicity, genre, date, place, literary movement. Part of Literature Resources Online collection. 

Distinguished Asian Americans: A Biographical Dictionary, edited by Hyung-chan Kim. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 1999.  (F) E184.O6 D57 1999 

Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online)    

Articles on artists in all visual media, worldwide. Also covers noted art historians, patrons, collectors, curators, and arts administrators. Links to illustrations. Updated quarterly. 

Grove Music Online  (antiquity+)  

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well. 

Zia, Helen and Susan B. Gall. Notable Asian Americans. New York: Gale Research, 1995.   (DR) E184.O6 N67 1995  

Who's Who Among Asian Americans. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 1994.  (DR) E184.O6 W467