Skip to Main Content
Tools for Locating Government Documents and Publications
- Library Catalog
Princeton selectively collects government publications published by governments across Latin America. Most of them can be found through the Catalog. Important collections of documents and ephemera are also listed and described in the Primary Sources & Special Collections section of this guide.
- Government Document Resources at Princeton University Library
These guides serve as starting points for locating US, UN and EU government publications, including those related to foreign relations with Latin America and other parts of the world. For databases of government documents, go to Databases by Subject: United States Documents, United Nations Documents, European Union Documents.
- A guide to the official publications of the other American republics. Washington, Library of Congress, 1945-1948. 18 v.
This detailed guide classified the official publications of the Americas by government branch, ministry and other subdivisions. Each bibliography is preceded by a brief introduction summing up the historical background of official publications in each country.
Available in print and online through the Hathi Trust Digital Library.
- Worldcat
This online catalog is helpful for identifying holdings of library materials that are not available at Princeton. Items can often be borrowed through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.
- Politics & Government - Spain and Portugal
Gateway to Iberian governmental and political resources on the internet.
- Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA)
Digital archive containing copies of the web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries.
- Political Database of the Americas
Covers 35 countries, providing legal texts, statistical information on elections and public opinion, political parties, polls, and links to government sites and directories; bibliographies.
- Foreign Law Guide
Bibliography of sources of foreign law organized by country. Each entry contains a brief description of the country's legal system with citations to primary sources of law both in print and electronic versions when available. At the end of each entry is a list of subject headings with citations to the relevant laws or statutes. For additional tools, see the Foreign Law section of the Legal Research at Princeton libguide.
- Organization of American States / Organización de Estados Americanos
The OAS publishes many of its official publications, studies and reports on its website. However, many of its publications are only available in other formats. If you can't find what you are looking for in the OAS website, review the guide to locating OAS official documents and other publications.
- Brazilian Government Documents
The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
- Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
This database contains a collection of digital full-text presidential messages of Argentina and Mexico from the early 19th century to the present.
