Skip to main content

Latino Studies: Arts, Culture, Literature

Selected Introductory and Reference Works

  • Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States. Literature and Art, Vol. 4.   Nicolás Kanellos and Claudio Esteva-Fabregat, eds.  Houston: Arte Público Press; Madrid: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-. 
     Location: Firestone (F)
    Call number: E184.S75 H365 1993 
  • Latinos in the Arts.  Otfinoski, Steven.  New York:  Facts on File, 2007.    
    Location: Firestone (F)
    Call number: NX512.3 .H57 O83 2007 
  • Latino/a popular culture. Michelle Habell-Pallán and Mary Romero, eds. New York; London: New York University Press, 2002.
    Location: Firestone (F)
    Call Number: E184.S75 L3554 2002

Useful Databases

Important note:  This is only a selected list of important databases for finding information about Latinos in literature and the arts.  Additional key resources can be identified in Latino Studies Core & Supplementary Databases and by subject/discipline in the Databases by Subject section of the site. 

  • MLA International Bibliography 
    Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics. 
  • Latino Literature 
    Full text of prose, poetry, plays, and other materials by Latino writers.  
  • Art Index 
    Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts.
  • Literature Resource Center 
    Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras. 
  • Music Index Online 
    Includes international music periodicals covering classical, popular and world of music. Comprehensively cites articles and news about music, musicians and the music industry as well as book and concert reviews and obituaries.