Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Religion

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

Bibliographies

American women in church and society, 1607-1920: a bibliography, compiled by Dorothy Bass.  [New York: Auburn Program at Union Theological Seminary], 1973.   (F) Z7964.U49 B37 1973

 

Black women and religion: a bibliography, by Marilyn Richardson.  Boston, Mass.: G. K. Hall, c1980.  (F) Z1361.N39 R53

 

Feminist spirituality and the feminine divine: an annotated bibliography, by Anne Carson.  Trumansburg, N.Y.: Crossing Press, c1986.  (F) Z7963.R45 .C367 1986

 

Goddesses & wise women: the literature of feminist spirituality, 1980-1992: an annotated bibliography, by Anne Carson.  Freedom, CA: Crossing Press, c1992.  (F) Z7963.R45 C37 1992

 

Women and religion: a bibliographic guide to Christian feminist liberation theology.  Compiled by Shelley Davis Finson.  Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, c1991.  (DR) Z7963.R45 F56

 

Women and religion in Britain and Ireland: an annotated bibliography from the Reformation to 1993, compiled by Dale A. Johnson.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, c1995.  (F) Z7963.R45 J64 1995

 

Women and religion in India: an annotated bibliography of sources in English, 1975-92, by Nancy Auer Falk. Kalamazoo, Mich.: New Issues Press, College of Arts and Sciences, Western Michigan University, 1994.  (F) Z7964.I5 F35 1994

 

Women in American religious history: an annotated bibliography, by Dorothy C. Bass and Sandra Hughes Boyd.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1986. (DR) Z7963.R45 B37 1986

 

Women in Christian history: a bibliography.  Compiled and edited by Carolyn DeArmond Blevins.  Macon, Ga.: Mercer University Press, 1995.  (F) Z7963.R45 B45 1995

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American women and religion, by June Melby Benowitz.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1998.  (DR) BL2525 .B45 1998

 

Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America.  Edited by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether.  Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2006.  (F) BL458 .E52 2006

 

Find Articles

ATLA Religion Database + ATLASerials (full-text)  (1949+)

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

 

Cambridge Collections Online  

Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.

 

Catholic Periodical & Literature Index  (1981+)

Citations and abstracts to books, articles, and other material about Roman Catholicism published by Catholics or in Catholic publications.

 

Humanities Full Text  (1984+)

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

 

Index of Articles on Jewish Studies  (1985+)

Indexes articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of the land of Israel. Covers articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

 

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies  

Index to journal and newspaper articles, books, and web sites on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900 to the present and includes the following fields: politics, law, international relations, economics, literature, religion, arts, anthropology, history and archaeology. The database includes the catalogue of the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS), a major collection in London.

 

Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion  

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press religion titles.

 

Religion Compass  

Peer-reviewed survey articles on religion.

 

Religious & Theological Abstracts  (1958+)

Provides abstracts of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.

 

Religious & Theological Abstracts  (1958+)

Provides abstracts of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.

 

 

 

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+) 

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Google Books

Google Scholar