Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: History

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gerritsen Collection

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online  (1543-1945)  Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

 

Women and Social Movements

Women and Social Movements in the United States  (1600-2000)  
Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

LGBT Life

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

Google Scholar

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

Reference Sources

The Annotated index of medieval women, by Anne Echols and Marty Williams.  New York: M. Wiener Pub., 1992.  (F) CT3220 .A56 1992

 

Cambridge Histories Online  

Full text reference works from Cambridge University Press in history and other fields.

 

Handbook of American women’s history, edited by Angela Howard Zophy.  New York: Garland Pub., 1990.  (DR) HQ1410 .H36 1990

 

History Reference Center  

Full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 120 history periodicals, more than 59,600 historical documents, 49,600 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

 

Journal of women’s history guide to periodical literature, compiled by Gayle V. Fischer.  Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1992. (DR) Z7962 .F57 1992

 

The women’s desk reference: an A-Z sourcebook, by Irene Franck & David Brownstone.  New York: Viking, 1993.  (DR) HQ1236.5.U6 F73 1993

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of women’s history in America, by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont.  2nd ed.  New York: Facts On File, c2000.  (F) HQ1410 .C85 2000

 

Encyclopedia of women in the ancient world, by Joyce E. Salisbury.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2001.  (CLAS) HQ1127 .S25 2001

 

Facts on File encyclopedia of Black women in America, edited by Darlene Clark Hine.  New York: Facts on File, c1997.  (DR) E185.96 .F2 1996

 

International encyclopedia of women’s suffrage, by June Hannam, Mitzi Auchterlonie, and Katherine Holden.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2000.  (F) JF851 .H28 2000

 

Jewish women in America: an historical encyclopedia, edited by Paula E. Hyman and Deborah Dash Moore.  New York: Routledge, 1998.  (DR) DS115.2 .J49 1997

 

Latinas in the United States: a historical encyclopedia.  Edited by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sánchez Korrol.  Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2006.  Also in (F) E184.S75 L35 2006

 

The Oxford encyclopedia of women in world history.  Bonnie G. Smith, editor in chief.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, c2008.  Also in (DR) HQ1121 .O93 2008

 

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia.  Edited by Katharina M. Wilson and Nadia Margolis.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.  (DR) HQ1143 .W643 2004

 

Women in world history: a biographical encyclopedia.  Anne Commire, editor.  Waterford, CT: Yorkin Publications, c1999-c2002.  Also in (DR) HQ1115 .W6 1999

 

Bibliographies

Bibliography in the history of women in the progressive era, compiled by Judith Papachristou.  [Bronxville, N.Y.] : Sarah Lawrence College, c1985. (F) Z7964.U49 P36 1985

 

Bibliography of British and Irish History  (1900+)

Authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day. The bibliography is hosted by the Institute of Historical Research.

 

British women’s history: a bibliographical guide, compiled by June Hannam, Ann Hughes, and Pauline Stafford.  Manchester; New York: Manchester University Press: Distributed in the USA and Canada by St. Martin’s Press, c1996.  (F) Z7964.G7 H36 1996

 

Canadian women’s history bibliography: catalogue, compiled by Klay Dyer, Sue Martin, and Lucy Sussex.  Ottawa: Canadian Institute for Historical Micro-reproductions, 1997. (F) Z7964.C36 D94 1997

 

The female experience in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century America: a guide to the history of American women, by Jill K. Conway.  New York: Garland Pub., 1982.  (DR) Z7961 .C64 1982

 

The history of women in Germany from medieval times to the present: bibliography of English-language publications, by Helena Col ; with the assistance of Jane Caplan and Hanna Schissler for the German Women’s History Study Group.  Washington, D.C. (1607 New Hampshire Ave., N.W., 2009): German Historical Institute, 1990.  (F) Z7165.G3 C65 1990

 

International Medieval Bibliography  (1967+)

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

 

United States government documents on women, 1800-1990: a comprehensive bibliography, compiled by Mary Ellen Huls.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993-.  (SSRC) Z7964.U49 H85 1993

 

Victorian American women, 1840-1880: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Karen Rae Mehaffey.  New York: Garland Pub., 1992.  (F) Z7964.U49 M43 1992

 

Women and feminism in American history: a guide to information sources, by Elizabeth Tingley and Donald F. Tingley.  Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., c1981.  (DR) Z7964.U49 T52

 

Women and the American Civil War: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Theresa McDevitt.  Westport, Conn.: Praeger, c2003.  (F) Z1242 .M355 2003

 

Women in English social history, 1800-1914: a guide to research, by Barbara Kanner.  New York: Garland Pub., 1987-1990.  (DR) Z7964.G7 K36 1987

 

Women in the Third World: a historical bibliography.   Pamela R. Byrne and Suzanne R. Ontiveros, editors.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio Information Services, c1986.  (DR) Z7964.D44 B96 1986

 

Women in U.S. history: a resource guide, by Lyda Mary Hardy.  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2000.  (F) Z7964.U49 H364 2000

 

Biographical Sources

American National Biography  (17th Century+)

Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name or various characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

 

American women historians, 1700s-1990s: a biographical dictionary, by Jennifer Scanlon and Shaaron Cosner.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (F) E175.45 .S27 1996

 

Native American women: a biographical dictionary, edited by  Gretchen M. Bataille and Laurie Lisa. 2nd ed.  New York: Routledge, 2001.  (DR) E98.W8 B38 2001

 

Notable American women: a biographical dictionary completing the twentieth century, by / Susan Ware.  Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press, 2004.  (DR) CT3260 .N5725 2004

 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  

Illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of Great Britain, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.

 

Women in world history: a biographical encyclopedia.  Anne Commire, editor.  Waterford, CT: Yorkin Publications, c1999-c2002.  Also in (DR) HQ1115 .W6 1999

 

Women patriots of the American Revolution: a biographical dictionary, by Charles E. Claghorn. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1991.  (DR) E276 .C5 1991

 

Find Articles

America: History and Life  (1954+)

Note: Print predecessor Writings on American History covering 1904-1954 is in Firestone's General & Humanities Reference (DR) Z1236.L331.

 

American History & Culture Online  (1500-1926)

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

 

American Periodical Series Online  (1740-early 20th century.)

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

 

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

 

Early American Imprints  (1801-1819)  

Note: (not yet complete)

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online  

Partially searchable digital images of about 150,000 books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.

 

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index  (1995+)

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

 

Footnote.com  

Online access to material from the National Archives documenting a wide range of topics in American history. Also includes genealogical material and a collection of small town newspapers.

 

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

 

GenderWatch  (1970+)  

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

 

HeritageQuest Online  

Includes all of the images, & extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. Offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories & over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more.

 

Historical Abstracts  (1954+)

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

 

History Compass  (2003+)  

Peer reviewed survey articles across the historical disciplines.

 

History Microforms Resources  

 

History Universe (CIS)    

Part of the larger Lexis-Nexis service. We subscribe only to the index to guides to microforms. This is a useful way to identify microform sets that may contain material of interest on a topic, but you must use the Main Catalog to determine whether we own the microform set in question.

 

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers  (1688+)

Digital edition of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers of the 19th and 20th centuries, with searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for 19th- and 20th-century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. .

 

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive  (1450-1850)

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

 

Nineteenth Century Masterfile  (Nineteenth Century+)

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

 

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature  (Nineteenth Century+)  

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

 

Urban Studies Abstracts  (1973+)  

Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, etc.

 

ViVa Bibliography of Women's History  (1990+)

Provides access to articles about women's and gender history from more than hundred European, American and Indian historical and women's studies journals.

 

Primary Digital Resources

 

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (1558-1950)

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters.

 

Defining Gender, 1450-1910  

Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.

 

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920  

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

 

 

 

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries  

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

 

North American Women's Letters and Diaries  (Colonial-1950)  

Full text database of women's personal writings. 

 

Oral History Online  

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

 

Publications on the Status of Women  (1960+)

Full text database of reports and publications issued by local and state commissions on the status of women. When complete, these publications will document women's issues in all 50 states and include an array of ephemeral materials, charts, graphs, and tables.

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States  (1600-2000)

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

 

Women and Social Movements International (1840-)

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

 

Women Working (1800-1930)  

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

 

Everyday Life & Women in America

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920  
Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood. 

Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Google Books

WSSLinks: Women's History

WSSLinks: Women's History  "This page lists annotated links of various comprehensive sources of U.S. and global women's history."