Skip to main content

Religion: Biblical Exegesis Resources

Religion Research Guide

Princeton Theological Seminary

The Princeton Theological Seminary Library has a very rich collection of Bible commentaries and reference works.

Databases and Indexes

New Testament Abstracts

Firestone Library (F) 5100.673

(New Testament Abstracts is available online at the Princeton Theological Seminary Library)

Bible Concordances

NRSV Exhaustive Concordance. Metzger, Bruce. Nashville: T. Nelson Publishers, 1991. (BS 425 N453)
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: BS425 .N453 1991
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS425 .N453 1991

The Exhaustive Concordance to the Greek New Testament. John R. Kohlenberger III, et al. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub. House, c1995.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS2302 .K655 1995
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl BS2302 .K655 1995

Computer-Konkordanz zum Novum Testamentum Graece. Eds. H. Bachmann and W. Slaby. New York: De Gruyter, 1980. A very thorough computerized work based on the 26th edition of Novum Testamentum Graece by Nestle-Aland and the third edition of The Greek New Testament.
Firestone Library (F): Oversize Oversize BS2302 .C65q

Konkordanz zum Hebraischen Alten Testament. Stuttgart, Privileg. Württ. Bibelanstalt, 1958. A very thorough work which treats the Hebrew.
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: 5121.591

The Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. James Strong. New York: Abingdon, 1973. (BS 425 S85)
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: BS425 .S8 1970z

The New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. Nashville: T. Nelson, 1996. (BS 425 S85)
Firestone Library (F): BS425 .S76 1996

Bibles

The New Oxford Annotated Bible , New Revised Standard Version. editor ; Marc Z. Brettler, Carol A. Newsom, Pheme Perkins, associate editors. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, c2001.

( General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS191.5.A1 2001 O9 )--

The HarperCollins Study Bible : New Revised Standard Version, with the Apocraphal/ New York, NY: HarperCollins, c1993.
Firestone Library (F) c.1 Temporarily Shelved at Firestone 3 Hour Reserve (RES). Reserve Desk BS191.5.A1 1993 .C35 )--

The Complete Parallel Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books : New Revised Standard Version, Revised English Bible, New American Bible, New Jerusalem Bible.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS 125 1993

The Precise Parallel New Testament : Greek text, King James Version, Rheims New Testament, Amplified Bible, New International Version, New Revised Standard Version, New American Bible, New American Standard Bible New York: Oxford University Press, c1995.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS2025 1995 .K63 1995

The Greek New Testament. Edited by Kurt Aland [and others] London: United Bible Societies [c1968]
Firestone Library (F) 5148.1968.3 )--

Novum testamentum Graece. Stuttgart: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, c1993.
Scribner Room (SE). Firestone B-Fl BS1965 1993 )--

NASB-NIV parallel New Testament in Greek and English. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, c1987.
Firestone Library (F) BS1965 1987 )--

Bible Commentaries

The Anchor Bible. Series; catalogued under individual titles, e.g., Genesis; The Book of Daniel; The Epistles of James, Peter, and Jude. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1964.
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl Call Number: 5183.1964

The International Bible Commentary : a Catholic and ecumenical commentary for the twenty-first century editor William R. Farmer ... [et al.]. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, c1998.
Firestone Library (F) BS511.2 .I57 1998

The International Critical Commentary
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl Call Number: 5201.491

The Interpreter's Bible: the Holy Scriptures in the King James and Revised standard versions with general articles and introduction, exegesis, exposition for each book of the Bible.Ed. George Arthur Buttrick et al. New York, Abingdon-Cokesbury Press [1951-57, v. 1, 1952]
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: 5201.493
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS491 .I65

The New Interpreter's Bible. George Buttrick et al. 12 v. ed. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1994. The scriptures in the King James and Revised Standard Version, with general articles; introduction, exegesis & exposition for each book of the Bible.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS491.2 .N484 1994

New International Commentary on the New Testament.
Various volumes available in Firestone, cataloged by individual commentary. A catalog title search for the series will give list of individual volumes.

The Oxford Bible Commentary, edited by John Barton and John Muddiman. Primary Material: Book Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS491.3 .O94 2001

Bible Dictionaries

Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6 vol. New York: Doubleday, 1992.
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: BS440 .A54 1992
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS440 .A54 1992

Dictionary of the Bible. Ed. John L. McKenzie. Milwaukee: Bruce, 1965. (BS 440 M36)
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: 5107.606

Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. 3 vols. Eds. Horst Balz and Gerhard Schneider. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 1990-.
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: BS2312 .E913 1990

The HarperCollins Bible dictionary [San Francisco, CA]: HarperSanFrancisco, c1996.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS440 .H235 1996 )--

The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. Ed. George Buttrick et al. 4 vol. & suppl. New York: Abingdon, 1962. (BS 440 I 63)
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: BS440 .I63
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS440 .I63

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1974-2001. 11 vol.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS440 .B5713

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1964-76. 10 vol. (BS 2312 T43 E5)
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: 5354.524.1964