Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Market Research

Market Research Reports

Market research reports contain information like the size of an existing market, market trends, and market segmentation. Market research can help identify your target customer and refine the product to fit the customer's needs. Most third party market research reports are intended for a corporate audience and produced at a very high cost. However, those listed below make their products available for academic use.

Fitch Connect (former title: BMI Research) This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Includes extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, and macroeconomic analysis and forecasts.
ACCESS NOTE: Click here for instructions to log in as a Princeton patron.

Frost & Sullivan TEAM Research
Global market research coverage of the following sectors: Aerospace & Defense, Automation & Electronics, Chemicals, Environment, Energy, Healthcare, Information & Communication, Materials, Technologies, Transportation.
Global Insight
Includes market research on the automotive industry, energy, health care, pharmaceuticals, and telecommunications.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Detailed market research reports on selected products, services, and demographic groups.
Mergent Archives
Includes industry and market reports with detailed analysis and forecasts on two dozen major global industry sectors from Textiles to Aviation for the North American, European, Asia Pacific, and Latin American regions. Mergent Archives offers you the entire collection of these semi-annually released Industry Reports.
Passport GMID (Euromonitor)
Provides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 210 countries. Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Statista
Statistics portal that integrates facts from a wide range of sources categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets.
TechNavio in Factiva
Market research reports covering more than 100 industries, including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, and automotive. International in scope. 2013+. To search in TechNavio, unselect "Exclude Discontinued Sources" from the Source search box, then type in TechNavio and enter a key term in the Free Text Search.

Consumer Information and Demographics

EIU Consumer Goods
5-year forecasts and news analysis for the international consumer goods industry.
ipoll databank (Roper)
Comprehensive, up-to-date source for national public opinion.
SimplyAnalytics
(eLab friendly; must be Princeton University student) Mapping application that lets users create thematic maps & reports using demographic, business, & marketing data.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes population, income, expenditures, and pricing information.
Who's Buying Series
Print and online consumer information series on a variety of products based on data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application that gives access to indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Geography available differs by source. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Not all data can be downloaded.

Free Resources (eLab Friendly*)

American Customer Satisfaction Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
American Factfinder
United States population demographic information from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder is a suite of services that provides selected data at the county and city level tailored to people looking to start a small business; includes socioeconomic and demographic data, key industry statistics, and even consumer spending data!
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Expenditure Survey includes "information on buying habits of America's consumers."
Pew Research Center
Contains survey reports, demographic studies, and data-driven analysis.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook
Data collected from U.N. national statistical authorities.