Favorite Recipes from Countryside Gardeners’ Kitchens. by Countryside Gardeners. [Pennsylvania] : Countryside Gardeners, 1975. 60 pages, illustrations. (F) TX715 .C686 1975.
The Four Season Farm Gardener’s Cookbook : from the garden to the table in 120 recipes, by Barbara Damrosch & Eliot Coleman. New York : Workman Pub., c2012. 485 pages, colored illustrations, map. (F) SB324.3 .D36 2012
Contents: The layout -- The crops : what to grow -- The crops : how to grow -- Making it easy -- Pt. 2. The kitchen -- Introduction -- Appetizers and sandwiches -- Soups -- Salads and dressings -- Egg dishes -- Pasta, grains, and legumes -- Summer vegetables -- Cooking greens -- Earthy vegetables -- Meat and seafood dishes – Desserts.
“A combination cook book and garden guide that teaches readers how to grow their own foods and then cook them in different recipes.” Catalog record..
Lois Burpee’s Gardener’s Companion and Cookbook, by Lois Burpee, edited by Millie Owen ; illustrated by Parker Leighton. New York : Harper & Row, Publishers, [1983]. 248 pages : illustrations.. (F) TX801 .B867 1983.
"Replete with tips on growing, harvesting, and storing vegetables, this handsome book provides more than 150 recipes for a variety of entrees and side dishes and demonstrates techniques for freezing garden produce." Publisher's note. Lois Burpee, wife of David Burpee who headed the Burpee Seed Company, both commercially successful and extraordinarily visionary in development of improved seeds on a global basis, provides thoughtful and practical guidancefor home gardeners, even those not experienced gardeners.
Military Wives’ Cookbook: 200 years of traditions, recipes, and remembrances, by Carolyn Quick Tillery. Nashville, TN: Cumberland House, [2008]. 333 pages, illustrations. (F) TX715 .T568255 2008
" A collection of recipes, personal recollections, and vintage photographs that trace the unique history and contributions of American military wives, presented in menu format with recipes that were popular during various eras over that last two hundred years." Catalog record.
Cook Wild : Year-Round Cooking on an Open Fire, by Susanne Fischer-Rizzi; photographs by Sabine Mader and Ulrike Schmid. London: Frances Lincoln Limited, 2012. 205 pages: color (F) TX823 .F57 2012
Contents: Foreward : a touch of adventure -- Fire : the heart of the outdoor kitchen -- Wood : heat, flavour and ambience -- Cooking on an open fire -- The art of improvisation -- Wild plants for the outdoor kitchen -- Baking bread on the fire -- Spring -- Summer -- Autumn -- Winter.
Gorp, Glop & Glue Stew : favorite foods from 165 outdoor experts, by Yvonne Prater and Ruth Dyar Mendenhall ; cartoons by Dale Martin. Seattle : Mountaineers, ©1982. 204 pages, illustrations. (F) TX823 .P69 1982.
"More than 165 well-known outdoor folk from several continents share their favourite recipes and relate memorable cooking and eating experiences, from trips that include desert sieges, watery voyages, and peak experiences all over the world. Their recipes (all tested with the possible exception of Mouse Soup) include homemade backpack foods, camp-cooked meals, wild food feasting, and better food with less work. Valuable tips for outdoor eating abound: and the haps and mishaps they've connected with food give lively insights into the contributors." - Catalog record.
Cafe Beaujolais, by Margaret S. Fox and John Bear ; [illustrations by Pedro Gonzalez]. Berkeley, Calif. : Ten Speed Press, ©1984. 257 pages, illustrations. (F) TX715 .F797 1984.
As the author observes in the introduction, of the 256 pages in this handsomely made cookbook, 132 are for recipes and 134 are musings on food and life around food, very like the experience of walking into this iconic restaurant in Mendocino, California. An emphasis on breakfast and deserts mirrors what is served there.
Chicago Diner Cookbook, by Jo A. Kaucher. Summertown TN: Book Pub., ©2002 159 p. (F) TX837 .K2598 2002
Contents: Appetizers, Breakfast & Breads, Soups, Salads & Dressings, Greens & Grains, Entrees, Sauces, Desserts
While assuming a certain level of culinary literacy, Chicago Diner Cookbook otherwise provides a clear roadmap for recreating many dishes that make up the comfort food canon of the mid-western United States.
Marshall Field’s Cookbook : classic recipes and fresh takes from the Field’s Culinary Council, by Steve Siegelman. San Francisco: Book Kitchen, ©2006. 231 p. (F) TX714 .S5585 2006
The classic "Tearoom" of many large department stores in the twentieth century began with the Walnut Room in Marshall Field's Chicago headquarters.
Taste Memories : recipes for life and breakfast, by Ina Pinkney ; photography by Stephen Hamilton. [Illinois?] : Never Better Publishing, [2013]. 222 pages ; illustrations (chiefly color) (F) TX715 .P56 2013
|The classic breakfast foods highlighted here will seem familiar to those for whom Ina Pinkneyy has cooked over the years.
Taste of Charleston South Carolina Restaurant Recipes, by Phyllis C. Myers [compiler] Myrtle Beach, South Carolina: Phyllis C. Myers [2004]. 1 volume, unpaged. (F) TX715 .T377 2004s
A small handbook that provides ready recipes for the low-countery cooking of the South Carolina coast.
In the Kennedy Kitchen : Recipes and Recollections of a Great American Family, by Neil Connolly. New York: DK, c2007. 255 p. (F) TX715.2.N48 C645 2007.
Favorite Kennedy family recipes from the Hyannis Port Compound.
Original White House Cookbook, edited by Hugo Ziemann. Old Greenwich, Conn. : Devin Adair, c1983. 619 pages, illustrated. (F) TX715 .Z58 1983
This reprint of the 1915 classic details favorite recipes from many president's time in the White House.
What do President's eat? : evolution of White House menus : food fare for the first family, by Carl H. Giles. : RECAP TX715 .G543 1965s
This tiny book provides listings of favorite foods from several presidents
