Skip to main content

Anthropology: Internet Resources

Recommended web sites

American Anthropological Association.  List of Anthropology Resources on the Internet.“This resource area is meant to be used as a tool for finding information on anthropology that is available on the web. Please note other Resource links to on the left hand site and look at the Careers Development pages for information on funding opportunities.”

 

American FolkLife Center. Folklife Sourcebook  A database of ethnographic resources of all types in the US and around the world.  Provides annotated entries for identifying archives, museums, and libraries; directories and web resources; grant giving organizations; higher education programs; public sector organizations; publishers and dealers of books and recordings; research groups; and societies.

 

Anthropology at Berkeley: A Century of Pathbreaking Scholarship, 1901-1001 (online exhibit)

 

ARD- The Anthropology Review Database   ARD is a searchable database of book reviews of interest to anthropologists.

 

Center for Ethnography  In association with the University of California, Irvine, the Center for Ethnography focuses on developing "sustained theoretical and methodological conversations about ethnographic research practices." Established in 2006, the Center supports innovative collaborative ethnographic research as well as research on the theoretical and methodological rethinking of ethnography for contemporary cultural, social and technological transformations." Contains event dates, project themes, and reports.

Handbook on ethical issues in anthropology, edited by Joan Cassell and Sue-Ellen Jacobs  This book was originally published in the American Anthropological Association's Special Publications series. Its six chapters deal with a range of topics relating to the ethical aspects of anthropological practice, such as 'how to hold a workshop on ethical problems in fieldwork'. It is edited and mainly written by Joan Cassell and Sue-Ellen Jacobs.

Internet Scout Project. Scout Report Archive: Anthropology 
"A searchable archive of the best of the net's resources from the Scout Report, the Scout Report for Science & Engineering, the Scout Report for Social Sciences & Humanities, and the Scout Report for Business & Economics.  Resources are cataloged and browseable by Library of Congress Subject Headings."

 

Intute – Anthropology  

Browse a variety of the best web sites for study and research in anthropology. Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  No new resources are being added to the site.

 

Library of Congress. American Folklife Center.  Folklife Sourcebook 

A database of ethnographic resources of all types in the US and around the world.  Provides annotated entries for identifying archives, museums, and libraries; directories and web resources; grant giving organizations; higher education programs; public sector organizations; publishers and dealers of books and recordings; research groups; and societies.

 

Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britian and Ireland   The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense.

 

Voice of the Shuttle - Anthropology 

 

Digital repositories

American Museum of Natural History Dspace Digital Repository  The AMNH DSpace Digital Repository is a digital archive maintained by the Research Library for AMNH Scientific Publications and materials digitized by the Library.

Hathi Trust Digital Library    HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.  Note: From the Public Collections or My Collections tabs, login using your Princeton ID to see public PDFs.

Museum web sites

California Academy of Sciences.  Department of Anthropology. Anthropology Collection Database  "The database includes digital images of collection objects. Currently there are over 8,000 images available, documenting the areas of strength in the collection.  The Department actively collects materials of indigenous cultures of western North America (exclusive of Mexico) and the Pacific Rim, including all Pacific islands and East Asia."

 

Harvard UniversityPeabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
"The Online Features section of the web site provides access to the museum's objects, photographic, and archival collections, and research of the faculty and staff."

 

University of MichiganMuseum of Anthropology 

 

University of Pennsylvania. Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology 

 

Registry of Anthropological Data Wiki

The Registry of Anthropological Data Wiki is a resource for anthropologists and any other researchers interested in culture, history, language, and human life in general.  It represents a wide-ranging list of field notes, ethnographic source materials, and data in countless digital and physical archives, produced by anthropologists over the last century.