Skip to main content

Anthropology: Bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.

Selected bibliographies

Bibliographic guide to anthropology and archaeology.  Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall & Co., c1988-2003.  (F) Z5111 .B47

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans.  Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

 

Gravel, Pierre Bettez.  Anthropological fieldwork: an annotated bibliography.  New York: Garland, 1988.  (AnnexA) Forrestal  Z5118.F44 G7 1988

 

Erickson, Paul A. History of anthropology bibliography. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Department of Anthropology, St. Mary's University, 1984. (F) Z5111 .E72

 

____________.  History of anthropology bibliography. Supplement. Halifax, N.S.: Dept. of Anthropology, Saint Mary’s University, 1985-.  (F) Z5111 .E72 Suppl.

 

G.K. Hall bibliographic guide to anthropology and archaeology.  Detroit: Gale Group, c2000-2004.  (F) Z5111 .B47

 

Kemper, Robert V. and John F. S. Phinney. The history of anthropology: a research bibliography. New York: Garland, 1977 AnnexA) Forrestal  Z5111.K44

 

Library-Anthropology Resource Group, comp.  Anthropological bibliographies: a selected guide. Edited by Margo L. Smith and Yvonne M.Damien. South Salem, NY: Redgrave Publishing Co., 1981. AnnexA Forrestal Z5111 .A58

 

Library-Anthropology Resource Group, comp.  Serial publications in Anthropology.  2nd ed. South Salem, NY: Redgrave, c1982.  (DR) Z5112 .S47

Encyclopedias

Annual Review of Anthropology   (1972+)  

Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of archaeology, edited by Andrew Sherratt. New York: Crown Publishers/Cambridge University Press, 1980.  (Recap) CC165 .C3 1980

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of human evolution, edited by Steve Jones, Robert Martin, and David Pilbeam. Cambridge [England]; New York, NY, USA: Cambridge University Press, 1992.  (DR) GN281 .C345 1992

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of hunters and gatherers, edited by Richard B. Lee and Richard Daly.  Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.  (F) GN388 .C35 2004

 

Cambridge history of the Pacific Islanders 

 

Companion encyclopedia of archaeology 

 

Companion encyclopedia of anthropology 

 

Companion to archaeology , edited by John L. Bintliff.  Malden, MA ; Oxford, UK : Blackwell, 2003.  (F) CC173 .C65 2004

 

Companion to linguistic anthropology 

 

Concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology

 

Concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics

 

Concise encyclopedia of educational linguistics, edited by Bernard Spolsky.  Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 1999.  (F) P40.8 .C66 1999

 

Dictionary of anthropology, edited by Thomas Barfield.  Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1997.  (F) GN307 .D485 1997

 

Dictionary of concepts in cultural anthropology, by Robert H. Winthrop. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. (DR) GN307 .W56 1991

 

Dictionary of concepts in physical anthropology, by Joan C. Stevenson.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.  (F) GN50.3 .S74 1991

 

Dictionary of human geography

 

Dictionary of linguistics and phonetics

 

Encyclopedia of anthropology 

 

Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology, edited by David Levinson.  New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1996.  (DR) GN307 .E52 1996
Covers methods, concepts, and topics central to cultural anthropology.  Articles are signed by contributors, and provide sources for further study.

 

Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory. 2nd ed.  Editors, Eric Delson ... [et al.]. New York: Garland Pub., 2000.  (F) GN281 .E53 2000

 

Encyclopedia of language & linguistics 

 

Encyclopedia of modern Asia

 

Encyclopedia of North American Indians.   Frederich E. Hoxie, editor.  Boston, MA : Houghton Mifflin Company, 1996. (DR) E76.2 .E53 1996

 

 

Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology, edited by Alan Barnard and Jonathan Spencer.  London; New York: Routledge, 1996. (F) GN307 .E629 1996

 

Encyclopedia of world cultures ,  v. 1. North America / Timothy J. O’Leary, David Levinson, volume editors -- v. 2. Oceania / Terence E. Hays, volume editor -- v. 3. South Asia / Paul Hockings, volume editor -- v. 4. Europe (central, western, and southeastern Europe) / Linda A. Bennett, volume editor -- v. 5. East and Southeast Asia / Paul Hockings, volume editor --v. 6. Russia and Eurasia, China / Paul Friedrich and Norma Diamond, volume editors -- v. 7. South America / Johannes Wilbert, volume editor -- v. 8. Middle America and the Caribbean / James W. Dow, volume editor -- v. 9. Africa and the Middle East / John Middleton and Amal Rassam, volume editors -- v. 10. Indexes / David Levinson, volume editor.

 

Encyclopedia of world cultures. Supplement 

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences 

 

One Europe, many nations: a historical dictionary of European national groups 

 

Oxford companion to archaeology 

 

Peoples of Africa: an ethnohistorical dictionary 

 

Guides

Cultural anthropology:a guide to reference and information sources, by JoAnn Jacoby and Josephine Z. Kibbee. 2nd. Ed. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2007. (DR) Z5111 .J33 2007 

An annotated bibliography to handbooks, bibliographies, indexes, databases, literature reviews, conference proceedings, and much more.

 

Fieldwork in the library: a guide to research in anthropology and related area studies, by Robert C. Westerman. Chicago: American Library Association, 1994.  (DR) Z5111 .W47 1994

 

G.K. Hall bibliographic guide to anthropology and archaeology.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall & Co., 1988-2003.  (F) Z5111 .B47
Includes publications cataloged by Harvard University's Tozzer Library, one of the foremost anthropology collections in the world.  Users will find bibliographic entries for books, serials, microforms, manuscripts, maps, and videos.

 

Introduction to library research in anthropology, by John M Weeks. 2nd ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1998. (F) Z5111 .W44 1998