Skip to main content

Anthropology: Reference Works

Blackwell Reference Online

Cambridge E-Books

Cambridge Collections Online

Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics. 

 

·         Cambridge Companion to Atheism

                                         See chapter 17, “Anthropological Theories of Religion

 

·         Cambridge Companion to Modern American Culture

 

Cambridge Histories Online

Full text reference works from Cambridge University Press in history and other fields.

 

·         Cambridge History of Native Peoples of America

 

·         Cambridge History of Pacific Islanders  (see also Regional History e-books)

 

·         Cambridge World History of Food

 

·         Cambridge World History of Human Disease 

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Full-text of more than 100 dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford UniversityPress.

 

Food and Drink

 

·         An A-Z of Food and Drink

 

·         The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America 

 

·         Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise 

 

·         A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition 

 

·         The Oxford Book of Health Foods 

 

History

Oxford Encyclopedia of MesoAmerican Cultures 

 

Mythology & Folklore

 

·         Dictionary of African Mythology

 

·         Dictionary of Asian Mythology

 

·         Dictionary of Celtic Mythology

 

·         Dictionary of Creation Myths

 

·         Dictionary of English Folklore

 

·         Dictionary of Phrase and Fable

 

·         Dictionary of Superstition

 

·         A Dictionary of World Mythology

 

·         Oxford Companion to World Mythology

 

Sage Research Methods Online