Skip to main content

Anthropology: Archaeology

SAA

Society for American ArchaeologyAn international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas.”

AAA

American Anthropological Association (AAA)

Site has information on membership, news, publications, meetings, resources, and more.

Reference books

Archaeological Method and Theory: an Encyclopedia, edited by, Linda Ellis. New York: Garland Pub., 2000. (F) CC75.A654 2000

 

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology

 

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries, edited by Tim Murray.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2001.  (SA) CC100.E54 2001

 

Encyclopedia of Prehistory, edited by Peter N. Peregrine and Melvin Ember.  New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum, c2001-c2002. (DR) GN710.E53 2000

 

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology, edited by Graeme Barker and Annie Grant. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.  (SA) CC70.C59 1999

 

The New Penguin Dictionary of Archaeology, edited by Paul Bahn. Abridged edition.  London, New York: Penguin, 2004. (F) CC70. P46 2004

 

Oxford Companion to Archaeology

 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East

 

Web sites

Archaeological Institute of America

“The AIA promotes a vivid and informed public interest in the cultures and civilizations of the past, supports archaeological research, fosters the sound professional practice of archaeology, advocates the preservation of the world’s archaeological heritage, and represents the discipline in the wider world.”

 

Digital Antiquity 

Digital Antiquity is a collaborative non-profit organization devoted to enhancing preservation of and access to irreplaceable archaeological records and data.  Digital Antiquity supports archaeological research, resource management, education, and public outreach by providing new and innovative ways of finding, managing, preserving, and using archaeological information.  Archaeologists, computer scientists, and information management experts have created Digital Antiquity with two basic goals.  One is to improve substantially the ease of accessing and using archaeological information.  The other, equally important, is to provide for the long-term preservation of the irreplaceable records of archaeological investigations.

 

National Archaeological Database

A joint venture between the NPS and CAST, NADB, also known as "Nad-Bee," was developed as a result of a congressional mandate to increase awareness and provide access to information on archaeological projects nationwide. Organized in two parts, NADB Reports is a bibliographic inventory of over 200,000 primary reports on U. S. archaeological sites, and NADB Multiple Attribute Presentation System (MAPS) presents GIS maps of cultural and environmental resources.  Users will also find linked documents relating to the National Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA).

 

tDAR

The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship.  tDAR provides researchers new avenues to discover and integrate information relevant to topics they are studying.   Users can search tDAR for digital documents, data sets, images, GIS files, and other data resources from archaeological projects spanning the globe.  For data sets, users also can use data integration tools in tDAR to simplify and illuminate comparative research.

 

Unpublished Fieldwork Reports (Grey Literature Library)

The aim of this resource is to make available unpublished fieldwork reports in an easily retrievable fashion. There are currently 12625 reports available and this number is increasing steadily through the OASIS project in England and Scotland.

E-journals

Use the link below to access the complete list of e-journals in the field of archaeology available to the Princeton community. To find both print and electronic journals use the Main Catalog.