Skip to main content

Primary Resources for Architecture: PUL Resources

Key Resources

Princeton University Library Finding Aids: This Finding Aids site provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories for archival records and manuscript collections held within the University Library. Includes over 1700 finding aids from the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.

Daily Princetonian Digital Archive (1876 - 2002): This site contains images and text of The Daily Princetonian from its inception in 1876 through 2002. (For more recent issues, see:The Daily Princetonian)

Princeton University Collections

Architectural Material in Special Collections: This portal provides access to architectural material held by Rare Books and Special Collections as well as by University Archives and manuscripts division.

Architectural Presentation Boards: This collection contains presentation boards related to the design, construction, renovation and expansion of Princeton's grounds and buildings. In addition, the boards include those used for planning purposes, student housing strategies, insurance purposes and recording of features such as fallout shelters, and electrical feeders. The boards primarily include floorplans, artistic renderings, elevations and campus footprints.

The School of Architecture (SoA) Archive houses the Student Work Archive; administrative and archival records; and historic collections from former faculty members such as Jean Labatut (1899-1986) and Martin L. Beck (1900-1989).

The Labatut Collection in the SoA Archive includes papers, 35mm and lantern slides, films, blueprints, drawings, project files, and student works donated to the School by Professor Jean Labatut, Chief Design Critic and Director of Graduate Studies from 1928 to 1967. Substantial materials from the Labatut collection are also available in the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections’ Manuscript Division (Firestone Library) and the Princeton University Archives and Public Policy Papers (Seely G. Mudd Manuscript Library).  

The Beck Collection in the SoA Archive consists of personal and professional files from 1925 to 1980. A 1928 graduate of Princeton’s School of Architecture, Martin L. Beck taught at the School until the war effort pulled him away on government contracts in 1942. His papers include lecture notes, slides, sketchbooks, plans and photos, and correspondence.

William H. Short Collection on the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, 1956-1962: The collection consists of papers relating to the building of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City and Frank Lloyd Wright, its architect, collected by Short (Princeton Class of 1946), the project supervisor for the building. The Wright material includes a typed carbon of a manuscript, "Concerning the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum," notes of an interview between Wright and Robert Venturi and Short, and correspondence. Short's papers include correspondence, notes and memos (1956-1962), and his expense accounts (1957-1959). In addition, there are daily construction reports on the museum (1956-1959), blueprints and plans, photographs of Wright and the museum, miscellaneous material, and newspaper clippings.

Engineering in the Modern World: Beginning with the industrial revolution in Great Britain, engineering objects and systems have shaped our modern world. The works included in this collection, which is part of the Princeton University Digital Library, support the teaching and research conducted by students enrolled in the course Engineering in the Modern World.The collection highlights selected structural engineering works: the St. Louis Bridge, the Bayonne Bridge and a wide range of structures by Thomas Telford. Along with many other innovations, these provide a base for studying how engineering advances helped shape the modern society and culture.