The list below is a small subset of the databases on the Articles and Databases page on the library's website.
Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science Volume 1
Now in its third edition, this comprehensive handbook explores the myriad issues surrounding the use of animals in scientific laboratories. Topics in Volume I include the history of animal research, ethical concerns, regulation and legislation, facilities and equipment, genetics, health monitoring, nutrient requirements and feeding schedules, statistical analysis, surgical and non-surgical techniques, and anesthesia. The book also explores alternatives to lab animal use with a discussion of the refinement, reduction, and replacement of animal uses in the life sciences. The book boasts an array of international contributors.
Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science, Volume 2
Biomedical research involving animals remains essential for the advancement of the medical, veterinary, agricultural, and biological sciences. Following in the footsteps of its predecessors, the Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science, Volume II, Third Edition: Animal Models explains in great detail the comparative considerations underlying the choice of animal species and strains in different research disciplines. Efficient and humane experimental work with animals, in which subjects experience no avoidable pain and mental distress, requires skillful and conscientious staff. To this end, scientists apply the three R s: replacing experiments on live animals with alternative methods, reducing the number of animals necessary to obtain valid results within experiments, and refining techniques to minimize the discomfort experienced by the animal participants. "
Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science, Volume 3
While replacing and reducing the use of laboratory animals are integral parts of the 3Rs replace, reduce, refine which form the cornerstones of laboratory animal science, biomedical research involving animals remains absolutely essential for the advancement of the medical, veterinary, agricultural, and biological sciences. Building upon the bestselling previous edition, the Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science, Volume III, Third Edition: Animal Models complements volumes I and II of the third edition by completing the task of providing a comprehensive overview of animal models in all biomedical disciplines. The three Rs have been integrated throughout this handbook to promote efficient and humane experimental work with animals. Written by international experts, each chapter focuses on an important subdiscipline of laboratory animal science and can be used as a stand-alone text. This volume contains new chapters for six additional disease animal models: spinal cord injury, cardiovascular diseases, sudden infant death syndrome, developmental disorders, eye diseases, and human cancer. It also presents a new chapter on applying reduction and refinement to animal models. This handbook can be used for undergraduate and postgraduate laboratory animal science courses, and as a handbook for scientists who work with animals in their research, for university veterinarians, for regulators, and for other specialists in laboratory animal science."
Laboratory Animal Medicine
Laboratory Animal Medicine, Third Edition, is a fully revised publication from the American College of Laboratory Medicine's acclaimed blue book series. It presents an up-to-date volume that offers the most thorough coverage of the biology, health, and care of laboratory animals. The book is organized by species, with new inclusions of chinchillas, birds, and program and employee management, and is written and edited by known experts in the fields. Users will find gold-standard guidance on the study of laboratory animal science, as well as valuable information that applies across all of the biological and biomedical sciences that work with animals. Organized by species for in-depth understanding of biology, health, and best care of animals Features the inclusion of chinchillas, quail, and zebra finches as animal models Offers guidance on program and employee management Covers regulations, policies, and laws for laboratory animal management worldwide
Laboratory Animal Anaesthesia
Laboratory Animal Anesthesia looks at recent significant developments in anesthetic practices in laboratory experiments involving animals. It also provides information about basic standards for proper use of anesthesia. In addition, it examines the equipment and different anesthetic agents that are used in performing an experiment on animals. The book also discusses the profound effects of anesthesia on the physiological aspect of the animals' body systems, such as hypothermia and respiratory depression. The book addresses the proper management and care that should be provided for the animals that undergo anesthesia. Furthermore, it covers different anesthetic procedures that should be used on various kinds of small animals intended for laboratory experiments. The main goal of this book is to provide information about the different anesthetic agents used in experiments, and the proper standards to follow when using anesthetics on lab animals. . New edition provides new information on anesthesia and analgesia, and has an extensively revised and updated bibliography . Provides a balanced consideration of the needs of scientific research and the welfare of laboratory animals . Written by a veterinary anesthetist and scientist with over 30 years' experience in the field, and who is actively engaged in research in this area . Provides rapid, easily accessed information using tabulated summaries . Provides those with limited experience of anesthesia with the information they need to carry our procedures effectively, safely, and humanely . Provides sufficient depth for the more experienced anesthetist moving to this field
Welcome to the research guide for Literature Searches for Animal Testing Alternatives
The Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations require principal investigators to consider alternatives to procedures that may cause more than momentary or slight pain or distress to the animals and provide a written narrative of the methods used and sources consulted to determine the availability of alternatives, including refinements, reductions, and replacements.
"...the performance of a database search remains the most effective and efficient method for demonstrating compliance with the requirement to consider alternatives to painful/distressful procedures." The database search narrative must, at a minimum, include:
Policy #12: Consideration of Alternatives to Painful/Distressful Procedures
From the USDA Animal Care Resource Guide
