Skip to main content

Women in the Workplace: Home

Data Sources

"This report examines the conditions of women’s engagement in the labour market, by estimating and analysing five key gaps, or gender differentials, between women and men which disadvantage women."

Annual report from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes earnings by education, age, race, and Hispanic ethnicity.

"The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category. . . . Private employers with 100 or more employees or federal contractors with 50 more employees." Includes statistical tables (1998-2009)

"The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission collects labor force data from state and local governments with 100 or more employees within 50 U.S. states and District of Columbia." Includes statistical tables (2005, 2007, 2009)

  • Where to find BLS statistics on women / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. 1980, 1989, 1998, 1998, rev. ed. Firestone Library (F) call number HD8051 .A52   [View Catalog Record]

Report from the Bureau of Labor Statistics that "presents historical and current labor force and earnings data for women and men from the Current Population Survey (CPS)."   Archives (2004-2014)

"Women in the Workplace is a comprehensive study of the state of women in corporate America. The study is part of a long-term partnership between LeanIn.Org and McKinsey & Company to encourage female leadership and foster gender equality in the workplace.

One hundred eighteen companies and nearly 30,000 employees participated in this 2015 study, building on similar research conducted by McKinsey & Company in 2012."

Annual and trend statistics for participation and unemployment rates, earnings, industries, and education.

Special issue of the ILO's International Labour Review (Vol. 153, no. 2, 2014).


Library FAQ

See the "Women in the workplace and women as business owners?" Library FAQ for additional resources.


Formed in 1973 to represent "low-wage women, women in traditionally female jobs, and those who've experienced any form of discrimination." [web site]  Its advocacy addresses such issues as family-friendly workplace policies and eliminating workplace discrimination.

For 50 years, has conducted research to expand opportunities for women and business.  Maintains a Knowledge Center containing resources about women in leadership, corporate governance, women of color/visible minorities, and other topics.

Among other things, the Center "addresses women’s advancement in the workplace and conducts cutting-edge research on successful public and workplace policies."

While their research agenda addresses gender inequality broadly, it includes such topics as dual-career academic couples, women in technology, and work-life balance

Since 1987, conducts research about women's issues, including employment, specifically pay equity, social security, paid time off, etc. Includes Status of Women in the States and Status of Women in the Middle East and North Africa.

The Work & Family Policy Database (2011- ) identifies state bills and laws that address work and family issues.  Preceded (2005/2006-2009) by the Work and Family Bills & Statutes Database from the Work and Family Researchers Network.

The National Women’s Business Council (NWBC) is a non-partisan federal advisory council created to serve as an independent source of advice and counsel to the President, Congress, and the U.S. Small Business Administration on economic issues of importance to women business owners.

  • Women's Legal Defense and Education Fund

Legal Momentum presents information about the Fund's programs on women and work including job opportunities, equity and poverty

  • International Labor Organization

Women at Work: Trends 2016 - The Women at Work report provides the latest ILO data on women’s position in labour markets, examines the factors behind these trends and explores the policy drivers for transformative change.

Related Research Guides