Skip to main content

Sports Medicine Literature: Home

Key databases for finding articles, books and online information for athletic training, sports medicine and physical therapy

Library's Discovery System

Looking for a good book on physiology or kinesiology?

Princeton's main library catalog is here:

Our main PUL webpage is here and you may try the Books+ and the Article+ tabs to search via our new Discovery system.

Finding Articles

MEDICINE:  (Medline 3 ways. Scifinder - Chemistry - also includes a search of Medline.)
MEDLINE (ISI Web of Knowledge) (1950+)
A National Library of Medicine database, covers more than 4000 journal titles and is international in scope.  Typical ISI interface with 3 user-friendly search boxes.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1950+)
National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.  A detailed search form is presented, but fill out only what's necessary or relevant.
Medline (PubMed) (1946+)  The free-to-everyone, anywhere database from the source:
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.  Simplest form (basic) presents a Google-like search box.
IndexCat is a digital edition of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office (61 volumes in 5 series, 1880-1961).
All of the above databases are essentially the same; they just have different interfaces.  Princeton should have many full text articles available.  Just look for the Find It @ PUL button.  We still have some journal titles in print, which are not available online.
If we don't have an article that you want, simply copy and paste the reference into the request form of Interlibrary Loan, and we will get the article for you.  There is no charge for this service, as long as you have a Princeton ID.
Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.
Scopus (1996+)
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+  Includes many of the journals indexed by Excerpta Medica, the European version of Medline.  Provides double search blanks, which can be designated to specific field searching, e.g. title or subject descriptors.  User friendly.  The web tab in this database is separately searchable and known as SCIRUS, which is a science gateway to searching the web.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Dates of coverage of periodical sources vary.  Content includes encyclopedias, reference books, "Healthology videos", images. Blausen Human Atlas Animations,  Evidence-based reports, and frequently-updated drug information.
Sport Discus (1800+) 
International sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.
Physical Education Index  This database allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
BOOKS: (Full text)
Note: Ebrary may not work with Google Chrome.
Extensive collection of books (over 19,000 titles) on the following subjects: business & economics, computers, technology & engineering, humanities, life & physical sciences and social & behavioral sciences.
Evidence-Based Sports Medicine  (Example of title found herein.)
National Library of Medicine Bookshelf  Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211


Email me
Website / Blog Page


WorldCat   includes materials in libraries all over the world. Check Worldcat for holdings of material that are not available at Princeton. Available items may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.  Princeton's holdings are indicated.