LBGT Resources at Princetron
BIBLIOGRAPHY AND GUIDE FOR LGBT RESOURCES IN THE PRINCETON UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
The tabs on this page lead to a highly selective bibliography listing LGBT resources in the Princeton University Library.
For this Bibliography in alternate formats, choose here for:
PDF File - PDF for easy printing.
Web page for unified viewing of LGBT Resources
To conduct more in depth research, explore the following miniguide.
FURTHER RESEARCH on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Matters.
Individual titles listed in this LGBT BIBLIOGRAPHY are a highly selective gathering, and are a small sample from the depth and breadth of what is available through the Princeton University Library. More exhaustive research can be carried out utilizing the following portals and tools.
Main Catalog – Library Home Page, first item just under large search box in middle of page. Click on the GUIDED tab. Then, in the top box enter the search string gay? Lesbian? Bisexual? Transgender? Homosex? And click on the ANY OF THESE search type. Note that the question mark allows various endings, singular, plural and so on. Enter a term or terms of interest in the second box. Try searching these terms as keywords, and if that produces too many hits, narrow by choosing subject or title as a search type. Another way to focus a search is to choose a tope of material in the LIMIT by option, such as VIDEOS.
Databases - Library Home Page, along bottom, third item in left-most list. On the left side of the Database page, open the second scroll box on the left and navigate down to the “Gay & Lesbian Studies” listing, and click on the GO button the left side of the scroll box.
Google Scholar – Open Internet. http:// scholar.google.com. A broad net identifying materials, especially articles, from remarkably diverse places.
Dissertations – Library Home Page, Databases, search Proquest Digital Dissertations. The nature of dissertations is to be comprehensive, usually in a narrowly defined sub-specialty of a discipline. Footnotes and other references found in these titles, along with their bibliographies, can identify materials which could otherwise be overlooked.
WorldCat Database – Library Home Page, enter WorldCat in large search box, navigate to database. WorldCat is an interface for the OCLC Union Catalog, which reports the holdings of thousands of libraries, estimated to be tens of thousands of records. Hint: Click on the ADVANCED search tab, and use title phrase search type when you have an exact title.
Lavender Legacies Archives – Open Internet. This is a web site listing archives of LBGT materials nationally in the U.S. Archives contain usually unique holdings of records and manuscripts providing in depth coverage of an organization or topic. Lavender Legacies Guide, Guide to Lesbian and Gay Archives in North America. Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists. http://www2.archivists.org/groups/lesbian-and-gay-archives-roundtable-lagar/lavender-legacies-guide