This is the "New York history" page of the "HIS 502: Writing History [Spring 2010]" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIS 502: Writing History [Spring 2010]  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/HIS502 Print Guide Email Alerts

New York history Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ancestry Library

Has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images & indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index; Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage; The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England,1620-1630; Social Security Death Index; WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.

 

Warning!

This guide is for a class from a previous semester and may contain incorrect call numbers and dead links.

 

Sources for New York City

Report on the social statistics of cities in the United States at the eleventh census, 1890. John S. Billings. Washington, D.C.: Govt. Print. Off., 1895.
Firestone Oversize HA730 .A1A21 1890q and http://usa.ipums.org/usa/voliii/pubdocs/1880/1880a_v18-08.pdf

Vital Statistics of Brooklyn and New York City (including maps, 1884-1890)

Ward maps for New York City (use with the census to get information about "wards" or neighborhoods)

New York Real Estate Brochures Collection (covers 1920s to 1970s)

New York City Subway Historical Maps

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) Sanborn fire insurance maps contain detailed information on urban structures, property boundaries, and streets. Provides historical information on the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Historic Map Works: New York State

Historic Maps of New York City (University of Texas)

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

Newspapers:

  • New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1851-2006)
  • Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902)
  • America's Historical Newspapers  (1690-1922)
    Provides searchable full-text of newspapers more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 states. Includes newspapers from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and others, including the microfilm collection based on Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers."
  • more sources at Finding U.S. Newspapers at Princeton

Librarian for History & History of Science

Profile Image
Elizabeth Bennett
Contact Info
Firestone Library, B-10-P
609-258-0496
Office hours, Spring 2014:
Tuesday 2-4 p.m.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip