Research Guides: HIS 400: The Modern Jewish Intellectual [Fall 2014]: Starting points

Intellectual history: reference

Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history. Mary Kupiec Cayton, Peter W. Williams, editors. New York : Scribner, c2001.
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone E169.1 .E624 2001

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative bios of more than 19,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates. 17th Century+
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of the Jewish life, including religion, history, politics, culture, the Holocaust, Jewish arts and literature, Jews in America, and more. Composed of complete text of the 16-volume 1972 print edition, eight year books, and two decennial volumes.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.
Cambridge Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.

Zotero and Refworks

THIS BOX IS OBSOLETE

Zotero and Refworks are powerful tools that can help you organize your research. They also make it much easier to add footnotes and bibliographies to your JP. You should choose one and begin using it right away.

Which one is right for you?

Do you own a laptop? Do you usually work on it?
I own a laptop and usually work on it – go to question 2.
No, I don’t own a laptop – go to Refworks for history majors
I own a laptop, but I usually use a cluster computer – go to Refworks for history majors
What browser do you use?
Firefox – go to Zotero for history majors and use the checklist under If you use Firefox and Word
Chrome or Safari – go to Zotero for history majors and use the checklist under If you use Google Chrome or Safari, and Word
Intenet Explorer or anything else – go to Refworks for history majors

If you do not use Word but do use OpenOffice/LibreOffice/NeoOffice, make sure you install the right plugin to work with your wordprocessing software.

If you use a wordprocessor other than Word or OpenOffice/LibreOffice/NeoOffice, ask for help.