Skip to main content

Construction Safety: Home

Ongoing Sources of Information

American Society of Safety Engineers

"oldest and largest professional safety organization . . . . members manage, supervise and consult on safety, health, and environmental issues in industry, insurance, government and education." [web site]

Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI) 

Comprehensive annual compilation of national occupational fatalities published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Tables include: 1) fatal occupational injuries by industry and event or exposure, 2) fatal occupational injuries resulting from transportation incidents,  3) fatal occupational injuries to private sector wage and salary workers, government workers, and self-employed workers by industry, 4) fatal occupational injuries by primary and secondary source of injury for all fatalities and by major private industry sector 5) fatal occupational injuries by occupation and event or exposure, and 6) fatal occupational injuries resulting from transportation incidents and homicides by occupation. One-time revision of annual data is published within approximately eight months. 

The Center for Construction Research and Training (CPWR)

Formerly the Center to Protect Workers’ Rights, the CPWR was founded in 1990 as the research, development and training arm of the Building and Construction Trades Department of the AFL-CIO.  In addition to occasional reports on specific issues, the Center produces several useful publications and databases. The construction chart book: The U.S. construction industry and its workers (4th ed. 2007) is comprised of chapters on construction labor force characteristics, employment and income, education and training, and safety and health.  Charts, graphs and tables are based on statistics from U. S. government agencies primarily, but also from international and private sources. 

The Construction Solutions database provides information about potential risks by work activity, task and hazard, listing the problem, risk description, level of risk, assessment information, solutions, regulations and standards. 

Construction labor report. Arlington, VA: Bureau of National Affairs. 1955-

Subscription-based weekly print news service that provides articles on legislative, regulatory and industry developments and union and management activity in the construction industry.  It includes a number of full text decisions from the National Labor Relations Board and descriptions of project labor agreements.  In the web product, articles can be filtered by federal agency, state (or Canada), union, association, company, federal statute or topic, such as Occupational Safety and Health and Cranes and Derricks.  Advanced electronic searching can be done by combining author, case, headings, state or topic fields.

Death on the job; the toll of neglect: a national and state-by-state profile of worker safety and health in the United States. 1992-    .

Annual report from the AFL-CIO covering "workplace fatalities, injuries, illnesses, the number and frequency of workplace inspections, penalties and public-employee coverage under the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSH Act). . . . state of mine safety and health." 

Print Location: Firestone Library (F) HD7262.5.U6 A342 (missing some years) 
[View Catalog Record]

Department of Labor: Workplace Safety & Health

Portal to the U.S. Department of Labor's agencies and units with responsiblity for workplace health and safety.


The Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health, which was funded by a grant from NIOSH, brings together user-friendly information for construction workers in both English and Spanish.  The site organizes images and text, by category—hazard, trade, job site, and media and documents useful for training/educational purposes.

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

NIOSH, part of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), was created by the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970  to develop and enforce workplace safety and health regulations. Its Construction Safety and Health topic pages include news about recent incidents, general construction safety information, links to NIOSH construction safety resources, specific health hazard evaluation cases, and research in progress. Its Fatality Assessement and Control Evaluation (FACE) Program topic page provides access to NIOSH and FACE fatality investigation reports and other safety resources.

Occupational of Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

Preliminary to OSHA investigations are the Weekly Reports of Fatalities and Incidents, “summaries of work-related fatalities and incidents resulting in the hospitalization of three or more workers reported to OSHA,” which employers are required to report within eight hours of the incident. The OSHA Construction Industry web page includes links for key standards, construction alliances and partnerships, and training and outreach. Other relevant Safety and Health topics include 1) Crane, Derrick, and Hoist Safety, 2) Fall Protection, and 3) Trenching and Excavation, which link users to OSHA standards and information about hazards and solutions.

OSHA has published a pocket guide in its Worker Safety Series, devoted to construction. The guide includes links to construction safety and health resources,

OSHA's Establishment Specific Injury and Illness database allows searches for industry and employment size from 1996-2011.


Professional Safety ( American Society of Safety Engineers)

Electronic 1987+ (Princeton only)

Print (under various titles, i.e. Professional Safety, Journal of the ASSE, ASSE journal from the American Society of Safety Engineers) in the following locations:

Vol. 19, no. 10 (Oct. 1974)-v. 26, no. 8 (Aug. 1981) Call number: (Annex B, Fine Hall) T55.A1 A418a

Vol. 9, no. 9 (Jan. 1964)-v. 19, no. 9 (Sept. 1974) Call number: (RECAP) 9062.122 

Lacks some issues

Selected References

Selected References 309, January 2010, lists publications and sources about crane and construction safety.

Related Research Guides