Skip to main content

Articles+ at Princeton University Library: Articles+ Content

What is Articles+?

  • Articles+  is a search engine (provided by Princeton University Library) that provides access to journal/newspaper articles, art and photo images,dissertations,and more.  It may be used in addition to other research databases in specific subject areas.

Content in Articles +

Note:  Articles+ (called ‘Summon’ by Serials Solutions) "... indexes content at the title level from information (full text and/or metadata) provided directly from publishers and content providers.  It does not index content on a database or package level, nor does it search content or present search results by database or package.  The  service does not need to work directly with a database provider or aggregator in order to have substantial coverage of the titles in a particular database.  In addition, the service often has full-text coverage of many citation databases."


Key Databases & Packages


View the list

View the spreadsheet

Serials Titles


View the list

Participating Publishers


View the list

When should I use another resource?

  Use other search engines (databases) when:              

  •  you need to use highly controlled vocabulary or search terms
  •  you need country, company and industry reports
  •  you need legal case reports and legislation
  •  you need materials in the humanities

         

Articles + Content

What does Articles+ search?

Articles+ may provide access to some or all of the databases and journals you already use.  Some databases and journals provide access to full text, others only list citation information (e.g., title, author, abstract, etc.).  Here are some of the major publishers and databases at least partially indexed in Articles+:

  • Access World News (NewsBank)
  • ACM Digital Library
  • Adam Matthews Digital
  • AIP Conference Proceedings
  • Alexander Street Press
  • America:  History & Life (Ebsco) (92% of active ISSNs)
  • American Institute of Physics
  • American Mathematical Society Publications
  • American Psychological Association
  • Applied Science and Technolgy Index (99% of active ISSNs)
  • ACSE Library
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
  • Art Index (79% of active ISSNs)
  • ArXiv.org
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  • Biosis (97% of all content)
  • Blackwell synergy
  • Atla Religion Database (75% of active ISSNs)
  • Brill Academic
  • Cairn
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Chadwyck Healy
  • China Data Online
  • Congressional Quarterly
  • Current Digest of Post Soviet Press
  • Digital National Security Archive
  • Documents on British Policies Overseas
  • Econlit
  • Economist Intelligence Unit
  • Elsevier (Science Direct)
  • Environment Complete (Ebsco) 94% of active ISSNs
  • Facts On File
  • Gale (Cengage Learning)
  • Geobase (92% of active of ISSNs)
  • Gender Studies database (Ebsco) 98% of active ISSNs
  • HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
  • Hoovers--Reports containing company profiles
  • Hathi Trust e-books
  • Historical Abstracts (Ebsco) (87.7% of active ISSNs)
  • ICE Virtual Library
  • ICPSR (in progress)
  • IEEE (2000+)
  • Index to Legal Periodicals & books (Ebsco) (95% active ISSNs)
  • Informaworld
  • Jane's Information Group
  • J-Stage
  • JSTOR
  • Kluwer Law International
  • Kotobarabia Arabic eLibrary Databases
  • LegatTrac (Gale)
  • LexisNexis
  • Library of Congress (American Memory)
  • MetaPress Complete
  • National Academy of Sciences (PNAS)
  • Nature Publishing Group
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • Oxford University Press
  • Philosopher's Index (84.5 % of active ISSNs)
  • Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
  • Project Muse
  • ProQuest
  • PyschInfo (93% of active ISSns)
  • PSYChArticles
  • PubMed Central
  • Rand Reports
  • SAGE Publications
  • Scopus (90% of active ISSNs)
  • SPIE Digital Library
  • SocIndex (93% of active ISSNs)
  • SportDiscus (75% of active ISSNs)
  • SpringerLink
  • Tablebase (in progress)
  • Taylor & Francis
  • Web of Science
  • Wiley
  • World Bank Publications
  • World News Connection (in progress)


Content types

Articles+ provides extensive full-text access to resources provided by the Princeton University Library. 

Some of these resource types include:

  • journal articles
  • newspaper articles
  • dissertations
  • conference proceedings
  • government documents
  • art and photo images
  • technical reports
  • sheet music
  • audio recordings
  • book reviews
  • ebooks (Hathi-Trust, etc)
  • pamphlets
  • maps
  • film scripts
  • posters

More on Content

Article + Content (from the blog;):
Article+ is based on a unified index, a Serials Solutions product called Summon, which uses link resolvers to connect to  fully digitized article content provided by thousands of publishers working directly with Serials Solutions.  As a result, in its default setting, almost everything retrieved through Article+ is available in full-text via the findit@PUL menu, or via direct links from the publisher. (Articles+ also includes citations, to Hathi Trust books, whether available in full text or not, and from databases like the Web of Science and Dissertation Abstracts).

What is not covered in Articles+:
1) Princeton makes accessible, via Article+, only that content to which PUL subscribes; anything that is included in the Summon Index but not something to which PUL subscribes is therefore excluded from the initial results retrieved.
2) Publishers who do not work directly with Serials Solutions are not included in the Index. If PUL has full-text access to publications by such publishers, this content will not be included. This also includes any article citations or abstracts found in databases, issued by publishers who do not work with Serials Solutions.

About Article+ “database” coverage:
As a courtesy to Summon Index users, Serials Solutions has assembled a list of databases whose coverage is included in the Summon Index.  Remember that content in Article+ is dependent not on database packages but on individual titles found in journals published by the publishers with whom Serials Solutions partners. Example 1) Urban Studies Abstracts is not included on the list yet many of the individual journals indexed by UrbStudAb are indexed, e.g. Journal of Urban Technology. Example
2) The list reflects 92.71% full-text coverage of those journals indexed by America: History and Life.  How does one determine what constitutes that 7.29% not covered?  It’s time-consuming. One has to compare the A:H&L journal list with the Summon journal list. It is likely that the smaller or societal publishers are not (yet) working with Serials Solutions, e.g. Society for American Baseball Research, Inc., or Germantown Historical Society, etc., etc.

Database Statuses: The list of databases working with Serials Solutions have a variety of statuses which breakdown into:

- Indexed: indicates all titles from a participating publisher or provider in a given database or package are currently indexed and are regularly being updated

- In progress: indicates Serials Solutions is actively working with a participating publisher or provider to index titles in a database or package and some portion of the titles may already be indexed

- Covered: indicates titles in a database or package are not directly provided to the Summon™ service since the provider is non-participating, but titles are covered because metadata and/or full text has been provided by other participating publishers and indexed.

What is retrieved when “Add results beyond your library’s collection” box is checked?

Checking the “Add Results Beyond Your Library’s Collection” Box: What does this do?
This search feature will include brief citation records for articles from journals and online resources and databases to which PUL doesn’t subscribe (as well as digital collections and repositories from other institutions).  In those cases, the full-text is not available.   The Library informs Summon of what resources it subscribes to.   In some cases there is not a direct match between what Summon thinks are PUL’s electronic holdings vs. actual holdings.  As such, there have been plenty of reported incidents thus far of Princeton subscription-based e-content (citations, abstracts, etc.) turning up in the “add results beyond library collection” mode.  So at times this feature can be a little more comprehensive despite the unwieldy number of results.

How to use Article + Content:
Because Summon does not cover 100% of PUL’s electronic holdings it is not a replacement for search native databases.  But, Articles+ makes a good starting point for research or can be used to expand your research beyond a familiar core group of databases.

More on Articles+ Content

Description of the Article + Content:

Article+ is based on a unified index, a Serials Solutions product called Summon, which uses  direct links from publishers  or Princeton’s link resolver to connect to fully digitized article content.  This content is provided by thousands of publishers working directly with Serials Solutions    The Library works with Serials Solutions to make sure that all of our subscribed content in the unified index is accessible.

What is not covered in Article+:
1) Princeton makes accessible, via Article+, only that content to which PUL subscribes; anything that is included in the Summon Index but not something to which PUL subscribes is therefore excluded from the initial results retrieved.

2) Publishers who do not work directly with Serials Solutions are not included in the Index.  If PUL has full-text access to publications by such publishers, this content will not be available through Articles+.

About Article+ “database” coverage:
As a courtesy to Summon Index users, Serials Solutions has assembled a list of databases whose coverage is included in the Summon Index.  Remember that content in Article+ is dependent not on database packages but on individual titles found in journals published by the publishers with whom Serials Solutions partners.

Example 1) Urban Studies Abstracts is not included on the list yet many of the individual journals indexed by UrbStudAb are indexed, e.g. Journal of Urban Technology.

Example 2) The list reflects 92.71% full-text coverage of those journals indexed by America: History and Life.  How does one determine what constitutes that 7.29% not covered?  It’s time-consuming.  One has to compare the A:H&L journal list with the Summon journal list. It is likely that the smaller or societal publishers are not (yet) working with Serials Solutions, e.g. Society for American Baseball Research, Inc., or Germantown Historical Society, etc., etc.

Database Statuses: The list of databases working with Serials Solutions have a variety of statuses which breakdown into:

- Indexed: indicates all titles from a participating publisher or provider in a given database or package are currently indexed and are regularly being updated

- In progress: indicates Serials Solutions is actively working with a participating publisher or provider to index titles in a database or package and some portion of the titles may already be indexed

- Covered: indicates titles in a database or package are not directly provided to the Summon™ service since the provider is non-participating, but titles are covered because metadata and/or full text has been provided by other participating publishers and indexed.

 

What is retrieved when “Add results beyond your library’s collection” box is checked?

Checking the “Add Results Beyond Your Library’s Collection” Box:    What does this do?
This search feature will include brief citation records for articles from journals and online resources and databases to which PUL doesn’t subscribe (as well as digital collections and repositories from other institutions).  In those cases, the full-text is not available.    In some cases there is not a direct match between what Summon thinks are PUL’s electronic holdings vs. actual holdings.  As such, there have been plenty of reported incidents thus far of Princeton subscription-based e-content (citations, abstracts, etc.) turning up in the “add results beyond library collection” mode.  So at times this feature can be a little more comprehensive despite the unwieldy number of results.

How to use Article + Content:
Because Summon does not cover 100% of PUL’s electronic holdings it is not a replacement for searching native databases.  But, Articles+ makes a great starting point for research or can be used to expand your research beyond a familiar core group of databases.