Info on Plans
Princeton African Studies Approval Plans
A. Thorold
This plan covers English language publications of publishers located in the Republic of South Africa and of the government and governmental bodies of South Africa. There is also limited coverage of Namibia and other countries in Southern Africa.
Subject areas covered are:
African Literature: including fiction and poetry, history and criticism of African literature, collections of literary works, literary aspects of African culture, collections of works from folklore or the oral tradition.
Anthropology and Ethnology, Economics and Development, Human Rights., Politics and International Affairs, Sociology, Environment, Government and Public Administration, History, Natural History, History of Science, and History of Medicine.
B. African Books Collective
The ABC plan is for English language publications of the publishers covered by the African Books Collective, excluding publishers located in South Africa. African Books Collective [ABC] is an organization of 102 independent African publishers from 18 countries. It is non-profit making, and supported by government agencies and development organizations. ABC markets and distributes African published books globally outside Africa, and publishes resource material for African book and publishing communities. ABC is based in Oxford, UK; Michigan State University Press in the US is ABC's North American partner, handling marketing and distribution in the US and Canada.
Subject areas covered are:
African and Black Culture, Literature, Folklore & Oral Tradition, Agriculture & Agricultural Development, Anthropology & Ethnology, Archaeology, Demography/Population, Economics & Development/Industry, Environment & Biotechnology, Government & Public Administration, History, Housing & urban planning, Human rights, law, media & mass Communication., natural history, Politics & International affairs, Religion & theology, Sociology (including rural & urban development), Wildlife & conservation, and Women’s studies.
C. Meabooks MeaBooks
Meabooks supplies Princeton with books and periodicals published in sub-Saharan Africa.
This approval plan arrangement covers research level books published in all countries in Africa south of the Sahara, with the exception of South Africa and Namibia. Materials are from commercial publishers and educational bodies; works in the subject areas from government or political organizations are also supplied.
Geographical Areas covered: Kenya, Nigeria, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Congo, Ethiopia, Sudan, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal
Subject areas: Agricultural Economics, Anthropology, Culture, Development and Economics, Ecology and the Environment, Foreign Policy, History/Biography, Law, Literature, Francophone novels, plays, poetry, Francophone history, Politics, Population Studies, Press, Art, Architecture, Forestry (economics), geography/Town Planning, Linguistics, Music, Sociology
Languages covered:
English, French for belle letters published in sub-Saharan Africa, Swahili
34 Chemin du Boise, Lac-Beauport, QC G02 2C0, Canada
Phone: 418-841 3237 Fax: 418-841 1644 Contact: Oleg Semikhnenko E-mail (spelled out): info at meabooks dot com
On-line bookshop, in cooperation with Hogarth Representation, a long-established supplier of African publications. Sells books, periodicals, and audiovisual materials from Africa (including Francophone Africa), Central Asia, Russia and parts of the Middle East. "We acquire books through regular personal visits to Africa and there are now over a thousand titles from almost all African countries in our on-line database, including books on Jewish presence in Africa." http://www.meabooks.com
D. LC Nairobi Plan
Approval Plans
African Books Collective
LC Africap plan Nairobi
Meabooks (Hogarth)
Thorold (South Africa)
African book dealers (list from Stanford)
Other lists
- Africa Book Centre Ltd., London
- Mail Order Booksellers, Preston Park Business Centre
36 Robertson Road, Brighton BN1 5NL, United Kingdom
Phone: +44 (0) 1273 560 474
Fax: +44 (0) 1273 500 650
Bookshop Manager: Daniel Lofters
E-mail: orders@africabookcentre.com
http://www.africabookcentre.com
Stocks some 12,000 titles and publishes the quarterly, Africa Book Centre Book Review, which provides news and book reviews, lists of new books published in Africa, and new books published in the rest of the world. Page on Africa's 100 Best Books. To receive e-mail notices, specify subject and area of interest in an e-mail to: info@africabookcentre.com
Future agreements?- Clarke's Africana and Rare Books
- P.O. Box 186, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Tel: +27 21 794 0600
Fax: +27 21 794 00601
Contact: Paul Mills.
Specializes in antiquarian books, maps, prints, ephemera. Accepts wants lists. http://www.clarkes.co.za/
- Clarke's Bookshop
- 211 Long Street, Cape Town, 8001 South Africa
Tel: +27(0)21 423 5739
Fax: +27(0)21 423 6441
Contact: Henrietta Dax
Email (spelled out): books at clarkesbooks dot co dot za
New books, serials, ephemera from Zimbabwe, Namibia, Mozambique, Swaziland, Lesotho, Botswana and South Africa, on all topics. Specialises in books on Southern African art. Has some out of print books. Will search for books. http://www.clarkesbooks.co.za/
Questions
· My area covers humanities? social sciences? sciences? If only portions of certain areas, please briefly address that.
· Languages covered? Vernacular only? Do you also collect in non-vernacular and if so what are your basic criteria and what do you expect other subject specialists to purchase?
· Areas of the world covered (primary countries)? Are the diaspora from your areas included?
· Do you have approval plans? If so, a very brief overview of what they cover.
· 5. In what formats do you collect? Paper? Electronic? Film? Data? DVD? etc.
· Approximately what percentage of selecting is automatically for RECAP? 85%
How do you see your areas changing in the next few years?


Loading...
